To Kill The President by Sam Bourne.

Goodread’s page: To Kill the President by Sam Bourne

The USA has elected a highly volatile president who takes North Korea’s words to seriously and nearly launches a nuclear attack. Maggie Costello, though a White House employee is not fan of the President. Still, when she uncovers a plot to take his life should she chose to save the President and risk the free world or does she commit treason and face causing a civil war?

I don’t think I’ve ever read a political thriller before. I’ve read similar ish in the sense it was a thriller in Dan Brown’s books, I’ve also read a lot of psychological thrillers. But political thrillers are new to me and for a first one I really enjoyed this.

This book is the third in the series, although I never felt like I was missing out on anything and it read as well as a stand alone I think this is a series that I’d enjoy for progression of characters. The main protagonist Maggie is a really strong female character.

I think like most people, Trump’s presidency has opened a lot of people’s eyes to the American political system. Wether you’re a fan or not, this reads like it could be factual, like this could have happened. Which makes this book both chilling and exciting in equal measure.

My disappointment was the end, not because the ending wasn’t good but the action all seemed to erupt in the last 5%, I wanted more. Though maybe I’ll get more in the next book? Who knows!

This is a series that I’m going to give a go to. I think if you’re in anyway interested in American politics or you just like a really good, edge of your seat (and at times damn right scary) thriller then you should give this a go.

I’m giving this ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️!

Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

