Something Beautiful by Amanda Gernentz Hanson.

I received an eBook copy of this for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. And as with all my reviews, honest I will be.

For more details please check out the Goodread’s page here: Something Beautiful

TRIGGER WARNING: THEMES SURROUNDING SUICIDE AND SELF HARM.

Firstly, I love the cover of this book. I’m not sure if the physical copy of this book looks like this but if it does I’m insanely interested in buying a copy for my shelf (because it would look beautiful).
This story follows the story of Cordelia and Declan who have been friends since they were three, more than friends, soul mates. Cordelia struggles with depression and Declan struggles with the fluidity of his sexuality. Both of which influence and shape the course of their lives, separately and together. This is a long story but it is so much more.

Over all I really enjoyed this book. I’m going to talk about the things I had problems with first. The pacing of this book seemed a bit off to me, some bits dragged and other bits felt so rushed. The fist half of this book could have been a lot shorter and the second half certainly could have been a lot longer.

I also got the feeling that the story in general was just so squeezed in that it didn’t have time to develop. A lot happens in this book, I mean A LOT but that doesn’t necessarily help push the plot forward when you constantly feel like you’re trying to keep up with it. Especially the serious issues raised in this book could have been explored further and although the author didn’t shy away I felt like when an issue appeared it was just done and we never really saw it again which didn’t feel realistic.

Also how much bad stuff can happen in one book? This is like The Game of Thrones of Young Adult/New Adult Contemporary.

Saying all this I was dragged into this book more than I expected to be. I really liked the characters who weren’t your stereotypical YA people. These characters had depth that even with the rushed plot made me feel attached to them.

I loved that this book didn’t shy away from hard topics. It was unapologetic it’s the sheer force of some of its harder scenes and I really appreciated that. Sometimes you don’t want everything sugar coated.

Overall I’m giving this book ⭐️⭐️⭐️ but a good solid 3 stars!

Leave a Reply

