Lady Midnight & Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare.

I’m going to try and make this as spoiler free as possible but I’m sorry now if things sneak in that I don’t even notice are spoilers. This is not a series you want spoiled.

The Dark Artifices is at least going to be a trilogy if not more, the third book isn’t due out till 2019! I was stuck between saving these books till the whole thing came out and reading it in one go (and face being spoilt) or reading it now and hoping I won’t have forgotten it all by the time the next book comes out.

I don’t think I made the wrong decision reading them now. Of course I’m sad it’s going to be at least a year and a half before I get to read the next book BUT I totally want to read these two again and it will be fun to do it for a second time before the third book comes out.

This series is a follow on from both The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices series’. This is 5 years after the end of The Mortal Instruments and follows Emma and Julian contending with the cold peace (the cutting out of the fairy world) and the everyday stuff that effects them.

I’m not going to go to much into plot in this review because I think that ruins the whole experience but these books as so rich in diversity. They cover so many issues and so well that it’s hats off to Cassandra Clare. In this there is an autistic character, someone with a mental wasting disease, different sexualities, different races, forbidden love, a transgender character and the horrors of war.

I think these books do a beautiful job of making you think about things. That people are different and that’s ok. That we are better together than we are fighting. Even though this is a fictional world it tells so many truths about our own world.

My favourite relationship in this book is between Ty and Kit. When you read this you will know what it means. Their little tribute to Sherlock Holmes and Watson absolutely melted my heart. 

This book also gives a really deep look into child caregivers. I don’t think this is a topic that’s particularly talked about and I think it’s so important. I loved the rich diverseness of this series so far.

I also love how these books make me feel. I loved both of her other series but this is my favourite already. I have come out of this angry, crying, full of grief but with fighting and hope in my heart. All from two books. I am now desperate to read the next book.

If you haven’t picked up these books yet, I can understand why if you want to save them. If you haven’t read a Cassandra Clare book, what are you doing with your life? I love these books and I can see why they have such a big fandom. I can see people’s problems with these books but to me they are near enough perfect.

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

