I only went to work and now I have a book haul.

Hello. This is only a little book haul. I finished work last night and a couple of books caught my eye.

I’m still in that summer romance kind of phase even though I just appear to be buying these books and then reading fantasy, but what can you do? I’ll get to them eventually. Still, added to my shelves now are;

The Cherry Tree Cafe by Heidi Swain.This sounds like the most stereotypical romance ever, I am loving the sound of this. Basically, Lizzie looses her boyfriend and her job in close succession and ends up moving back home. Her best friend Jemma luckily has just acquired a new cafe and needs Lizzie’s sewing skills for the grand opening. And with the chance of an old flame being rekindled, who knows what might happen?

In all fairness I know what’s going to probably happen but I know I’ll love the journey despite that. Sounds cute right?

The Little Kiosk by the Sea by Jennifer Bohnet.From what I can tell of the synopsis, this book follows three women in this sea side town over the summer. I love reading about the seaside at summer. Will Sabine save her little beach kiosk? Will Harriet get over her shocking past? Will Rachel fall in love again? Oh I hope so!

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood.I don’t’ really know what this is about. Something to do with a futuristic forced baby making regime? But I do know this is a feminist piece which always grabs my attention and let’s face it it has Samira Wiley (who played Poussey in OITNB) and I love her. Like most book worms I want to read the book before I watch the show.

Jo Cox: More in Common by Brendan Cox.I think I was as shocked as everyone at the senseless death of MP Jo Cox last year. Her death has really stuck with me and with the first anniversary of this tragedy her husband brought out this book. I hope firstly this book brings her family a ton of cash, cause although it doesn’t fix anything cash does ease pressures. I also hope this was a therapeutic process for her husband, family and friends. 

I want to read this because although I’ve heard amazing things about Jo Cox I know little about her achievements and I’d like to read this to find out more and honour her memory.

And that’s it (for now). Thank you again for reading? Every time I get a like, a comment and a notification that someone has read my blog it really does make my heart explode, I love writing this blog so thank you for sticking with me on my book journey.

Leave a Reply

