All Our Wrong Todays by Elan Mastai.

 Check out the Goodreads page here: All Our Wrong Todays

Essentially this book follows Tom, a man who lives in 2016 but not as we know it. He lives in the 1950’s sci-if version of 2016, all down to a scientist in the 1960s making a completely clean and unlimited energy source that changes the world forever.

His father, also a scientist makes a time machine; with all the advances in technology this is the next step BUT nothing goes to plan and Tom ends up on a journey that will change the course of history forever.

Have you read The Martian? If yes imagine a less factual scientific but still very sci-fi feeling book that is very relatable and entertaining to someone, such as myself who isn’t massively into sci-fi. If you haven’t read The Martian, think science, think time travel, this the world changing because of your one move.

This book was just fantastic. I hardly ever read anything in this genre and I’m not really sure why I picked this up, guess I should just be thankful I did. I have heard a few people say they don’t like this book so much. I think the narrative can come across a bit whingey but I liked all the characters and a book like this is far more about the journey than personal development. If you don’t mind repetitive internal monologues then you’ll be good with this book.

I liked that this book was action packed but also had so much heart. It brought up questions and ideas (mainly surrounding consequences) that I’d never really considered before, I do enjoy a book that makes me think.

It also had romance here and there which I think certainly adds a humanistic element to the book. There’s also a family element to it too, like a small family drama which makes the contrast between the giant world drama the protagonist faces.

Think of this kinda like a more serious Back to the Future with adults. And a fuck ton of swearing and regret.

It’s not all believable but it’s science fiction so it’s not meant to be. I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I believe also this book is still on kindle in the U.K. for £1.99 if you want to pick it up.

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Thank you for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

