The Last Piece of my Heart by Paige Toon.

Goodread’s page: The Last Piece of my Heart

**SPOILER FREE** – Though if anyone wants a discussion piece let me know in the comments.

If you’ve read a few of my blog posts over the last couple of months you will have seen how many Paige Toon books I have read and enjoyed. My lovely friend lent me my first one and I read them all (apart from her young adult spin off series) in about a month. Reading Paige Toon isn’t just about a story, it’s a universe of characters that interconnect and take you travelling all over the world to the most beautiful places. I loved her books now so much that I preordered this book without even reading the synopsis.

This book has a slightly different feel to her other books. The pacing of this book is slower and although it deals with quite sensitive issues, it isn’t done in a dramatic way. It’s also not just another romance book, this book is about far more than romantic love which made it such a satisfying read.

I COULD NOT PUT THIS DOWN. I think this is particularly to do with how the story unfolded of course but a lot to do with how much I love the lead character Bridget who is the kind of woman I not only relate too but would love to have as a friend. She is by far the most likeable character I’ve ever read. I loved her, she is brilliant. There isn’t a character in this, despite flaws, that I don’t like. Toon has managed to write some incredibly loveable characters.

This book isn’t without fault, as much as I loved the pace, would I have I have quite liked the ending not to have been as rushed. I wanted more, I wanted to see how things really turned out, in depth. I also missed the links to other characters from Paige Toon’s other books that didn’t pop up like they do in a lot of her other novels. 

Since that’s all I’ve got to complain about you can tell I think that was a pretty awesome read. If you love a contemporary with some romance and a whole lot of heart check this out.

It’s 5 stars from me!

Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

