A Court of Thorns and Roses series review.

I think this review will be pretty much a spoiler free overview, though if anyone wants me to write a more in depth discussion on the series let me know in the comments.

I am pretty new to the fantasy genre. I’ve not read a lot of fantasy but what I have I have pretty much loved. And initially I presumed this series was just a Beauty and the Beast retelling which I wasn’t interested in. Until I heard this was actually a fantasy including fairies which immediately made me want to read this series.

And this is a Beauty and the Beast retelling is the most loose sense of the term. If you’re expecting something along the lines of the Disney film then don’t. Because it isn’t, at all.

I was also lead to believe this was young adult. I wouldn’t class it as young adult but more of a new adult fantasy. These books, especially the second and third become quickly quite sexually charged which didn’t ruin anything for me but certainly shocked me when it first happened.

This series is a good fantasy series. It has a world with a map (which I love), different kinds of creatures, battles, war and love. Is it the best fantasy I’ve ever read? No. Maybe because this series is so huge it made me expect more but I spent all three books waiting for something spectacular to happen, which to me never did.

I also thought the character development was pretty poor. And although our main characters progress no one else really does, not without such small amounts of reason that don’t make comeplete sense. It’s amazing that these books can feel so long in terms of context and yet so short in what I felt could have been far more back story and development. I needed more law of the land, I needed more back story, I could have lived without other parts.

I think that this book is the last in terms of the story but I believe (and please correct me if I’m wrong) that there are some companion shorts to follow? If this is the case I hope they are back stories of side characters, I would love to read more.

These books are entertaining though if there is another book I’m not entirely sure I’d pick it up. I found my attention really wavering in the third book and I had to drag myself to the end. I’m not sure if a continuation of this series has to offer me anything but we’ll see.

Overall I’d give this series still a pretty good 3.5 stars out of 5. If you want a quick fantasy with naughty, sexy fairies then this may be for you. 

Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

