A Blast from the Past Book Haul.

My mum and dad kept this massive box of books from when I was a teenager (at least 10 years ago šŸ˜®) and yesterday they came back into my hands. It was glorious going through that box and I want to share with you, what I found and what I’ll be keeping for my shelves now.

This is my blast from the past book haul.

Misery; The Shining; Carrie by Stephen King. This is a great collection of three of Stephen King books all in one hardback. I read this when I was about 15 and it was an old second hand book then. Still it’s a great book and will look fantastic with my other Stephen Kings (you can never have to many). It’s a keeper.

The Book Theif by Markus Suzak.Who hasn’t read this book? Me, I haven’t read this book. But I would like to. Till then this is another glorious book to add to my collection. Keep.

Shakespeare Stories by Shakespeare (obviously) and illustrated by Michael Foreman. This is a collection of Shakespeare plays looks really good. I kinda remember it but not enough that I’m not excited to give this another read. Keep.

Bridget Jones’s Diary by Helen Fielding. I think I already have a copy of this but even if I don’t, I’m not bothered about keeping this. Unhaul.

The Vicar of Dibley: The Complete Companion to Dibley by Richard Curtis and Paul Mayhew-Archer.I haven’t got the dust jacket to this so I’ve included the map from the inside cover. I was a massive Vicar of Dibley fan and well I still am. So I really want to read this again. Keep.

The Tiger in the Well by Philip Pullman. I’ve recently bought His Dark Materials and I’m excited to read that but this seems more of a historical murder mystery, I’m just not really interested in it. Unhaul.

The Wessex Tales by Thomas Hardy.This may be a school but I never returned! I’d like to give this another go. Keep.

Thomas Hardy Book Collection. I love Tess of the D’Urbervilles and I would like to read it again. Keep.

Mysterious Christmas Tales & Haunting Christmas Tales by Gillian Cross, Susan Price and Robert Swindells. Me and my mum used to read these when I was younger. They were creepy and we love them. I have to keep these, just for sentimental reasons. 

The Twelve Days of Christmas (Correspondence) by John Julius Norwich, illustrated by Quentin Blake. I got this for Christmas off my parents one year and it’s so cute. I’d like to hold on to this, read it at Christmas time. Keep.

Death of a Naturalist by Seamus Heaney.

Kid by Simon Armitage.

Crow by Ted Hughes.

The Waste Land and other Poems by T. S. Eliot.

High Windows by Philip Larkin.

Old Possum’s Book of Practical Cats by T. S. Eliot. I won these in an Ottaker’s poetry competition when I was 13. I only read a couple of these, I would love to read them all now. Keep.

The Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum.

The Call of the Wild by Jack London.

The Happy Prince and other stories by Oscar Wilde.

The Lost World by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.

The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson.

RIP Van Winkle and other stories by Washington Irving.

Anne of Green Gables by L. M. Montgomery.

Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe.

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland AND Through the Looking-Glass by Lewis Carroll.

The Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas.

The Railway Children by E. Nesbit. This is the most gorgeous collection of children’s classics. I can’t wait to read them. Keep.

Trainspotting by Irvine Welsh. I can’t see myself reading this book. Unhaul.

The Children of Men by P. D. James. I found this book and had no idea what it was about till I read the back. It sounds really good and I’ll be keeping it for the future.

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. I didn’t like this when I first read it. But I think I was wrong. I think I will read this again and I will like it this time round. Keep.

Tess of the D’Urbervilles by Thomas Hardy. Since I’m already keeping a book with this story in it I’ll be saying goodbye to this one. Unhaul.

Thank you so much for reading šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

