The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas.

Today I have finished the highly popular The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas. This book is everywhere I turn but if you still don’t know what it’s about, Goodread’s page here: The Hate U Give

Could you imagine growing up fearing the people who are meant to protect you? Being told how to behave if the police ever pulled you over? Being told how to act to avoid being killed? This is the sad reality of black people in modern day America.

What I liked about this book is that it is not a straight story. This isn’t just about a girl in the aftermath of her best friend being shot by a police officer. This book is about family, culture, friendships, the law, discrimination, what divides and what brings people together.

This story is so well put together that I can 100% see where the hype has come from. I felt every emotion and although I’m not blind to the black lives movement, reading what felt like a first hand account really hit home. This isn’t a tragedy this is a common occurrence which makes me feel sick to the core.

I loved the characters in this and the discussions it brings up. This is a story I have no doubt will become a modern classic, hell I want to see it on the school curriculum. 

A lot of people have said this would make a good film and I completely agree, I see that in the future of this book too. 

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

I’d love to hear your opinions on this book, let me know in the comments if you’ve read this (though let’s keep it spoiler free please).

Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

