May TBR

Hello! Hope you’re all doing well. Happy May Day. To all of those with a day off have a good one and for all of those like me who have to work good luck. 

My April TBR was a disaster, it was only 5 books long and I only managed to read one of the books on it. I had a bit of a slumpy month last month and was very picky not only with what I read but also just DNFing things I didn’t like (which was quite liberating really). I see light at the end of my slumpy tunnel and therefore I have picked some books I’m super excited to read.

Currently Reading

1. The Fellowhip of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien.

I’ve attempted to read this before and hated it BUT since I watched the films the book has so much more appeal. I’m only 2 chapters in so far but I’m loving it.

The Fellowship of the Ring

2. The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas.

I’m struggling with this, not because it’s bad but in fact the opposite, it is so real and so heartbreaking that I keep having to put it down. I do want to finish this though because it’s going to be a classic of our time, I can just tell.

The Hate U Give

To Be Read

3 & 4. Lady Midnight AND Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare.

I’ve been waiting for Lord of Shadows to come out forever so I can read that and Lady Midnight together. I read Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy last month and it really got me in the mood for these books.

Lady Midnight
Lord of Shadows

5. Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie.

This book just sounds so incredibly interesting. I don’t know a lot about it which is sometimes a fun way to go into a book.

Americanah

6. A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E. Schwab.

Everyone has read this and I want in. That’s all there is to say about that really.

A Darker Shade of Magic

Thanks for reading πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “May TBR

  1. shutterpugblog says:

    I really liked Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare (I’ve read both the Mortal Instruments series and Infernal Devices previously). I’ll keep an eye out for your review to see what you think of it πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

