Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare.

Also by Sarah Rees Brennan, Maureen Johnson & Robin Wasserman, I just couldn’t fit them all in the title.

Hello again! Hope you’re all well. I am exceptionally well having just finished this fantastic book…

And just a warning now this is a SPOILER REVIEW. If you haven’t read the series or this book I wouldn’t read this review that is kind of more a discussion I guess, anyway!

I’ll leave the Goodread’s link here: Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy

This book sees a lead from our lovely Simon who after becoming undead decides to train to be a Shadowhunter at the Shadowhunter Academy.

I was told by a friend that I HAD to read this before The Dark Artifices, with the second book out in May I wanted to read the first two books together, hense why I picked this up. Frankly I wouldn’t have bothered if someone hadn’t have told me too.

I’m so glad I did. This is my first 5 star read of April and has completely rekindled my love for the Shadowhunter series and my excitement for The Dark Artifices which had somewhat wavered over the past year. 

I thought Simon as a lead was perfect. The stories in this managed to mix the old and new flawnlessly, tying up loose ends and opening up doors from the past into the new series. I love that Cassandra Clare writes a paragraph for sentence, in the sense that you get so much detail that I didn’t even think I needed but I did and now I want more!

There were three things that really got me in this book. I loved the background on the Clave, that was so interesting and is going to be super essential to the next series. I also loved the faries, can anyone sense a war with them coming on? And I absolutely was thrilled with the turn up of Jem, Tessa and Will! 

This collection of stories was just perfect and I loved it!

Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

