The Vegetarian by Han Kang.

For more information check out the Goodread’s page here: The Vegetarian.

Spoiler Free.

Trigger warning for rape.

I picked up this book mainly because for months I’ve heard flutters about it on booktube, little snippets here and there like little whispers that finally made me buy this book.

This is the story of Yeong-hye who had always lived a plain life until a bad dream lead her to become a vegetarian. This story is told through the eyes of her husband, brother in law and sister in three parts that really give this book a rounded feel.

I enjoyed this story. It’s a short 180 pages long and although I read it in a couple of hours it didn’t feel short, I didn’t feel like I needed more. What I am flooded with is emotion. Empathy for people, how we are confined by societal norms, how mental health is still such a taboo subject and how vulnerable we are as humans.

This book is rich with not only story but with such beautifully descriptive writing. I could see the point of view of every character (wether I wanted to or not). It is complex in a way that by the end you will be tangled up in this story. I don’t think I’ll forget about it any time soon and I look forward to reading this again in the future and no doubt discovering more about it.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

