Dramarama by E.Lockhart

Haven’t heard of this book? Check out the details here: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/437590.Dramarama

I haven’t been reading a lot of young adult lately, especially contemporary young adult. I saw this cheap and since I liked We Were Liars by the same author I thought I’d give this a go.

If you’re a fan of glee this has a very similar feel. Two friends spending their summer singing, acting and learning about themselves. If you like the flamboyant character with a deep soul in your books then this is for you.

E.Lockhart has a skill for writing a story in complete inner monologue. I’m not sure if I like this or not but I did like that part of this book that was written as conversation in the form of people talking to her in a dictaphone. The conversation in this book flowed.

The characters in this book are unique and I like the range of personalities and diversities.

Mostly I liked how this made me feel. I like that this talked about how some people are better at things than others but that everyone has things they’re good at. I also liked what this book had to say of friendships, I feel so often young adult books have these amazing friendships and never really look at what happens when people move on, I think this book did it beautifully and I really related to how the protagonist felt.

This really is for teenagers, I think you have to take this into account if you’re reading this as an adult. It is not only a fast read but a simple one. I’ve been reading a lot of adult fiction recently so I found it quite a nice change.

Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

