Heartless by Marissa Meyer

Before we start I need to show you the cover for this book. When I picked it off the shelf it just looked so much better than any of the other books.I love the shiney red on the white background. I also love the font on the back. And reading that blurb again, no wonder I was so eager to read it. Not That I wasn’t anyway considering how many people have raved about this book.

And I can see why they have. This is a solid ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ book for me, it seriously blew my mind and I’m so impressed with it. This book had a whole range of feelings surrounding it and I felt every last one.

We all know how this book ends, with Cath becoming the miserable Queen of Hearts. But this story of how she got there? The most heart wrenching journey I’ve read in a long time. I have no doubt that Lewis Caroll himself could not have written a better prequel. 

This is a love story but one where a strong woman isn’t just all about the romance. She has her own dreams and she’s kick ass too. Cath as a protagonist and leading lady is just fantastic. There wasn’t one thing I didn’t like about her. In fact I enjoyed reading all the characters.

It’s about 450 pages long this book, but it reads like it’s much shorter. I could have read another 100 pages easily. I felt after Meyer spent so much time world building that the ending just felt a bit rushed. But don’t worry, this takes nothing from the story. I think when your only complaint is that a book isn’t long enough that it’s a bloody good book.

I had high expectations going into this book that I feel were surpassed. This isn’t just a story it’s an experience, one that I’m sad to let go but I look forward to rereading in the future.

Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

