Book Haul – 04/03/2017

It’s Saturday which means library day! I also ended up picking up 2 books in a supermarket. Just a mini haul today but joyous to me nonetheless.

Phobic by variousWhere does fear lurk in 21st century life? In a technological age hardwired to keep information flowing and the unknown at bay, what irrationalities still linger for horror writers to tap into?

This is an anthology of modern horror stories. I am so excited to read this. I’ve not read a lot of horror short stories in the past so I’m hoping for a spine tingling experience.

Too Narrow to Swing a Cat by Steve HaywoodCasting aside the road maps that show the country as a web of interlocking motorways, Steve escapes to a different England on his narrow boat and cruises slowly through a landscape unchanged for centuries, visiting picturesque towns and canal festivals. But the new member of his crew, Kit, is an untidy bundle of fur with all the attitude you would expect from a ‘sarf Lunnun’ cat, and determined to keep him on his toes.

I love reading about Britain. I live in this beautiful country and I’m always eager to learn more and see it through someone else’s eyes. Our canal system is fascinating and I think this book will be so interesting.

Black Out by Marc Elsberg On a cold night in Milan, Piero Manzano wants to go home. Then the traffic lights fail. Manzano is thrown from his Alfa as cars pile up. And not just on this street – every light in the city is dead. Across Europe, controllers watch in disbelief as electricity grids collapse. Plunged into darkness, people begin to freeze. Food and water supplies dry up. The death toll soars. Former hacker Manzano becomes a prime suspect. But he is also the only man capable of finding the real attackers. Can Manzano stop them before it’s too late?

This is either going to be amazing or so bad! We will see.

Dramarama by E.Lockhart.Two fabulous theatre geeks. One boy, one girl. One gay, one straight. One black, one white. And SUMMER DRAMA CAMP. It’s the season of hormones, hissy fits, jazz hands, song and dance and true love. One hot summer will determine their future and test their friendship.

I just want this to be glee. I saw this last time I bought books but I didn’t know if I should or not but as it was two books for £7 I thought why not? I enjoyed We Were Liars but I didn’t like Fly on the Wall so it’s anyone’s game. I do like that E.Lockhart will give different genres a go.

What are you reading this Saturday? Let me know in the comments.

Thanks for reading 🙂


Leave a Reply

