Hidden Figures by Margot Lee Shetterly 

This is a firm ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ book for me. I think if you haven’t seen the movie or picked up yet, now is the time. This book is so important, especially if you’re trying to read more diversely and educate yourself on hidden black American history as well as feminist pride. Here is my spoiler free review.

I’m not a massive fan of film covers, I’m not sure there’s many people who are but I make an exception of this. Seeing strong black actresses portraying strong, black mathematicians, scientists and engineers is just so illuminating to me. I just love this cover.

Genius has no race. Strength has no gender. Courage has no limit.

This book reads somewhere between a history book and a novel. It lacks the dramatisation of a historical recreation because it doesn’t need any. The content of this book is fascinating enough. I feel like I’ve learnt more that I have learnt in a long time from reading a book.

The women portrayed in this book are bad ass. These woman with not only their gender but the colour of their skin stacking the odds against them, become the shining stars of what has become Anerica’s modern day NASA. 

Racism isn’t something I understand. What really hit me is that these women were the brains behind WW3, the Cold War and the fight for space travel and yet they were still treated less than their peers. I hope if you read this and get anything from this it’s that people are still not equal and we desperately need to change this. 

Buy this now!

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

