February Wrap Up

This month I’ve read 15 books, which is far more than I thought I’d get to since all I read were full novels (no manga, short stories etc). I have read the whole spectrum of star ratings, from 1 to 5 star reads. I’ve reread 3 books and DNF’d 1. 

1. After Dark by Huruki Murakami⭐️⭐️

I didn’t like this book. The style of writing was ok but the story itself was really a non story. I’m not one of these people who is happy with a book just being poetically written, I need substance that this book just didn’t have. 

2. Beyond the Shadows by Brent Weeks⭐️

Nope! This is the third book in the Dark Angel trilogy. I wish Brent Weeks has stopped at the first book because the second one wasn’t great and this one? Terrible! I couldn’t have cared less what happened to the characters.

3. November 9 by Colleen Hoover⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

This book was a reread that I fell in love with. The first time I read this book I felt like it kind of fell into nothing and I forgot about it quite fast but it had a much bigger impact on me this time and I really enjoyed it.

4. Harry Potter & the Chamber of Secrets by JK Rowling⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

This was also a reread. Still love it.

5. Lies We Tell Ourselves by Robin Talley.⭐️⭐️⭐️

The story itself is quite thought provoking but the book itself I have a number of issues in. I’ve done a full review here if you’re interested in my views on this book: Lies We Tell Ourselves Review.

6. The One Memory of Flora Banks⭐️⭐️⭐️

This book was a bit wishy washy. I loved the idea but it wasn’t really developed to its full potential. This story is full of well hated tropes including most annoyingly an unreliable narrator! 

7. Harry Potter & the Prisoner of Azkaban⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Again a reread that I still love!

8. Spooky Liverpool by Billy Roberts⭐️⭐️⭐️

Full of ghost stories. It doesn’t matter if you believe, they were very entertaining though got a little repetitive as it went on. Great way to learn a bit of history about Liverpool too.

9. Little Sister by Isabel Ashdown⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

I won this in a Goodread’s competition, it was an advanced readers copy which is so exciting, it’s wonderful to read something before it comes out. I really liked this book. I usually guess twists quite well but there was some shockers in here I really didn’t see coming.

10. Thirteen Weddings by Paige Toon⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

This is my first Paige Toon book but it won’t be my last! It was fantastic. If you like your romances packed with drama then I would give this book a go.

11. The Inn at the Top by Neil Hanson⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

If you have any interest in Yorkshire life in the 1970s or the highest pub in Britain then I’d give this well written book a try.

12. Apple Tree Yard by Louise Doughty⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Shocking. I couldn’t put this book down. I needed to know what happened. This book has such a unique narrative as well.

13. Orphan by Christopher Ransom⭐️

I DNF’d this book. I did get about 300 pages in but it was so boring I couldn’t bear to go on. Urgh.

14. Spooky Liverpool 2 by Billy Roberts⭐️⭐️⭐️

Pretty much the same as the first book.

15. The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware⭐️⭐️⭐️

Well written by very predictable.

Currently Reading: Hidden Figures by Margot Lee Shetterly

Leave a Reply

