The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware – Review.

I usually post a the synopsis and a few little facts about the book in my reviews but I’ve decided to stop doing that because it’s just not necessary! Instead I’m just going to post the Goodread’s link in case you want to check it out: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/28187230-the-woman-in-cabin-10

Review: I don’t read a lot of who-done-its, mainly because I find them slow going. I like watching them on tv, I guess cause they’re condensed and they don’t have the time to drag them out so much. Unfortunately for me, this book had a really slow feel.

I loved the beginning but then about 50 pages in the pace of the book began to REALLY CRAWL, I’d already worked out the ‘who’ pretty early on so I was just waiting for the ‘why’, which turned out to be half expected and half a bit far fetched, though this is fiction so I can’t really complain.

I’ve given the impression I don’t like this book, which isn’t really true. I loved the lead character Lo. I was slightly concerned she was going to end up another (drunk) unreliable narrator like Girl on the Train, but I was wrong thanks goodness!!! I loved the feeling of female solidarity and there were bits in this book that did pull me by surprise. I just think it could have been shorter, then again at just under 300 pages how much shorter could it get?

I’d like to see this as a film or a tv mini series. I think it would be fantastic and has so much potential in that area.

Who would I recommend this too? People who like a murder mystery. I’m a psychological thriller fan, this book has made me realise how very different these two are. Also people who don’t mind a slow burner and like to be able to guess outcomes.

3 Stars! ⭐️⭐️⭐️

Leave a Reply

