Book Haul 15/02/2017

Yes my book buying ban is truely broken but I had 20% off at work so I pretty much got one of these books free, how could I refuse? 

Here’s what I picked up…

The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware.This was meant to be the perfect trip. The Northern Lighte. A luxury press launch on a boutique cruise ship. A chance for travel journalist Lo Blacklock to recover from a traumatic break-in that left her on the verge of collapse.

Except things don’t go as planned.

Woken in the night by screams, Lo rushes to her window to see a body thrown overboard from the next door cabin, no passengers are missing from the boat. Exhausted and emotional, Lo has to face the fact that she may have made a mistake – either that, or she is now trapped on the boat with a murderer… 

I’ve had this on my TBR for quite a while now, having heard about it before it came out. I’m really feeling thrillers at the moment so I wanted to give this a go. Sounds like the kind of thing that will have twists and turns on every page.

Apple Tree Yard by Louise Doughty.Yvonne Carmichael has a high-flying career, a beautiful home and a good marriage. But when she meets a stranger she is drawn into a passionate affair. Keeping the two halves of her life separate seems easy at first. But she can’t control what happens next…

I started to watch the BBC adaptation of this but I couldn’t stand the more violent scenes. I just couldn’t watch it. I’m a lot better at reading the hard to stomach stuff than watching it. I am interested to know what happens so I thought the book was probably the better option for me. I’m hoping this will be a compelling read.

Hidden Figures by Margot Lee Shetterly.Genius has no race, strength has no gender, courage has no limit. The phenomenal true story of the back female mathematicians at NASA whose calculations helped fuel some of America’s greatest achievements in space.

Finally a black author writing about black (hidden) history. I saw the film trailer for this and it looks exceptional but I don’t go to the cinema often so the book seemed like the right option. The cover is exceptionally beautiful! Can’t wait to read this one.

The Break Down by B. A. Paris.

It all started that night in the woods. Case Anderson didn’t stop to help the woman in the car, and now she’s dead. Ever since, silent calls have been plaguing Cass and she’s sure someone is watching her. Consumed by guilt, she’s also starting to forget things. Whether she took her pills, what her house alarm code is, and if the knife in the kitchen really had blood on it. If you can’t trust yourself, who can you trust? 

I’m not a fan of unreliable narrators but I loved Behind Closed Doors that the author brought out last year. So who knows, maybe this will be the book to convince me otherwise? 

Paris for One and other stories by Jojo Moyes.In this irresistible collection, readers will be whisked from elegant perfume shops to taxis to five-star hotel rooms and beyond.

I love Me Before You and was thoroughly dissapointed with After You. So I know Jojo Moyes knows how to produce a fantastic story. I’m hoping these short stories will be entertaining and full of love. Plus this beautiful hardback was only about £1.50 more expensive than the paperbacks I bought – bargain!

Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

