Book Haul – 04/02/2017

Ok, ok, ok I’ve TOTALLY already broken my first book goal of 2017 and I bought books. I don’t even feel guilty because I’m so excited to own them! But… I do still want to keep my buying to a minimum and keep using the library because I love using the library. So what books did I get?

Library

Before I cracked and bought books I did visit the library today and pick up 2 books I’m really excited about. 

After Dark by Haruki Murakami.I read Norwegian Wood a couple of years ago and really enjoyed it yet I never picked up another of his books. This one caught my eye. I’ve been after a thriller type book (since all I’ve read is pretty much fantasy and manga this year and I needed something different) and this just appealed to me.

As far as I can tell this is a thriller set in Japan. The synopsis is pretty vague but I’m already 50 pages in and it felt like I’d only read a couple of pages which is always a good sign.

Lies We Tell Ourselves by Robin Talley.I love that the book community is so focused on diverse reads. It’s not that I’m aposed to reading diverse books it’s just I’m lazy and I tend to pick up the books I know I’ll like. This just happened to be on a shelf in the library and it sound phenomenal. Unfortunately this isn’t written by a black author so how well this will be portrayed is yet to be established.

This follows the first black girl entering an all white high school in America in the 1950s at the centre of the civil rights movement. This is also a lesbian romance which is fantastic, I can’t remember the last time I picked up a story with a lesbian lead.

I really hope this book is as good as I want it to be.

Books I Bought

Quidditch Through the Ages by JK Rowling.I got Beedle the Bard last month and managed to  I know this up today. I don’t think this really needs an explanation.

The One Memory of Flora Banks by Emily Barr.So this girl hasn’t  been able to remember anything since she was ten years old, then she kisses someone she shouldn’t and that is the first thing she remembers. Problem? The boy is gone! 

I read the synopsis of this in the shop and just thought yes. 

Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth

I LOVED Divergent. This is a young adult science fiction that sounds really good, certainly something I want to pick up. I realise this has had some controversy and understandably so but I hope reading the story will make the issues surrounding this clearer to me and I can form my own opinion.

Thanks for reading 🙂

One thought on “Book Haul – 04/02/2017

Leave a Reply

