January Wrap Up

I can’t believe it’s the end of January already! 

I’ve had a pretty great reading month both in numbers and content (which is of course the most important). I read 30 books this month, my number has been completely bumped up by the amount of manga I’ve read which can pretty much be read under an hour, I just couldn’t stop myself picking them up and I love delving into my first real journey into manga.

My January TBR was to read Death Note Volumes 4,5,6 which I read along with God Hates by Rebecca Barrett-Fox and Orange volumes 4 and 5. I also wanted to read The Pie at Night by Stuart Maconie which I jut wasn’t feeling when I got into it and I’m still reading IT by Stephen King but its on audiobook and I’m about 22 hours into over 40 hours; so I’m working on that. I also said I was going to a classic book a month and I didn’t, I picked up Withering Heights but it just didn’t happen this month, I’ll try again in February.

So what have I read in January?

I read the first 4 volumes of Orange by Ichigo Takano. I thought these were really cute though the story was repetitive the art work was cute, I gave these between 4 and 5 stars.

I also read Death Note Volumes 4, 5 & 6 by Tsugumi Ohba and Takashi Obata. I gave these between three and four stars. Death Note has lost my interest some what so I’m having a break before I give the rest of a series a go because I’ve crammed myself with manga till I’m sick this month.

God Hates by Rebecca Barret-Fox was one I was really looking forward too. It read like an academic text which meant I learnt quite an unbiased bunch of facts about left wing religious beliefs in America but it was quite a slow read. I gave this 4 stars.

Confess by Colleen Hoover was a reread from last year. I think I gave it 4 stars last year but after rereading it I realised the story just wasn’t as spam in your face as her other books but still such a satisfying story full of drama and heart and above all love.

Blankets by Craig Thompson was my first graphic novel of the year. I gave it five stars, I loved this. It deals with quite deep issues including religion and sexuality in a way that is both realistic and saddening. Plus beautiful drawings.

I then read volumes 1-9 of High School Debut by Kazune Kawahara. These are the Dawson Creek of manga and so cute. I gave these between 3 and 5 stars and I cried a couple of times.

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: the original screenplay by JK Rowling. This was a 5 star read for me. I loved the film so reading the film was just a great experience for me to have. I just wish this was a book series!!! I also picked up Beedle the Bard also by JK Rowling that I enjoyed and gave 4 stars too.

The Doabolic by SJ Kincaid was one of those books I just picked up. I’m so glad I did. If you like young adult high fantasy and don’t mind gore then this is such a good read. 4 Stars.

I picked up a couple of actor autobiographies which were A Life in Parts by Bryan Cranston (4 stars) and Scrappy Little Nobody by Anna Kendrick (5 stars). I enjoyed both of these and loved having a little look into other people’s lives.

I picked up How to Talk to Girls at Parties by Neil Gaiman, Fabio Moon and Gabriel Ba. I gave this two stars which I think was quite generous. The drawings were really cool but the story was not for me, at all, it actually felt pretty offensive.

I got Biomega Volume 1 by Tstomu Nihei from the library. I’m glad I got it from the library because I didn’t like it. I gave it 2 stars for the art work.

I also got Fun Home: A Family Tragicomic by Alison Bechdel. This was, as you can tell from the title, a comic that was also a memoir touching on home life and homosexuality. I loved this and gave it 5 stars. 

I then picked up my first adult high fantasy which was The Way of the Shadows by Brent Weeks, the first in the Dark Angel Trilogy. It was a four star read for me, I’m really starting to appreciate the fantasy genre and love exploring new worlds. What took me so long?

How it Works: The Wife by Jason Hazeley was my only 1 star read of the month. It wasn’t even remotely funny. It was just damn right sexist.

And FINALLY I read the illustrated edition of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by JK Rowling which I absolutely gave 5 stars too. The drawings really added to the story and I loved it.

Thank you for  sticking with this whole blog post! Let me know what you read in January in the comments!

Leave a Reply

