Manga and Graphic Novels – What I’m Reading.

Hello everyone! 2017 so far has been the year of reading Manga for me. It started with Death Note and has exploded into a variety of different things. So I thought I’d show you what manga and graphic novels I’ve been/ will be reading.

Graphic Novels

The Diary of a Teenage Girl by Phoebe Gloeckner.I picked this up last year after watching the film on Netflix. This is the most vile graphic novel I have ever read – in the best way. It is certainly something I would have written as a teenager and I loved the illustrations. Though I would advise this for older readers as it does have triggering and adult themes.

Blankets by Craig ThompsonA book of religion and first love, of teenage struggle and childhood trauma. This book, though not exactly happy, is gorgeous and so heartfelt. It looks huge but as it’s nearly all drawings I’d read it in less than 2 hours. I think this book will stay with me for a long time.

How to Talk to Girls at Parties by Neil Gaiman, Fabio Moon & Gabriel Ba.I haven’t read this yet but it looks really cool and so different from what Neil Gaiman is known for.

Fun Home: A Family Tragicomic by Alison Bechdel.This is a gothic memoir in the style of a graphic novel. I have no idea what this will be like but that to me sounds awesome!

Manga

Death Note by Tsugumi Ohba and Takeshi Obata.This book was so different to anything I’d read before. A guy who finds a notepad in which when you write people’s names they die! The further I get into the series the less I know and the more complicated it gets AND the more I need to know about it. Only pick this up if you can read the whole series because you’ll be so annoyed if you can’t.

Berserk by Kebtaro Miura.My fiancé picked this up and I read it. It’s about a massive guy called Guts throwing about vengeance with a humongous sword. I wouldn’t have picked this up on my own but I’m so glad my fella did and I got to read it.

Biomega by Tsutomu Nigei.I just picked this up from the library. It’s about a robot saving humanity from zombies, what isn’t to like? I’m really looking forward to this.

Orange by Ichigo Takano.Now manga isn’t all blood and guts. Orange is the story of a girl who gets a letter from herself ten years in the future. It’s kind of a sci-fi romance that I completely devoured. I can see why this series is so popular, I just wish it’d been longer!

High School Debut by Kazune Kawahara.Now this is romance manga. A girl who can’t get a boyfriend hires the cool guy at school as her coach. If you want something that feels a bit like Dawson’s Creek, this series is it!

Thank you for reading 🙂

Please leave any recommendations in the comments, I’m always looking for something new!

4 thoughts on “Manga and Graphic Novels – What I’m Reading.

Leave a Reply

