A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness.

This will be a spoiler free review.

Synopsis: The monster showed up after midnight. As they do.

But it isn’t the monster Conor’s been expecting. He’s been expecting the one from his nightmare, the one he’s had nearly every night since his mother started her treatments, the one with the darkness and the wind and the screaming…

This monster is something different, though. Something ancient, something wild. And it wants the most dangerous thing of all from Conor.

Book Facts: This book was released in September 2011 but has obviously resurfaced because the film is out at the moment. It was published by Walker books. My edition was a beautiful illustrated edition also by walker books. This book came from an idea by an author named Siobhan Dowd who sadly died before her story was written. This book was 214 pages long. It was such a quick read, I think I read this in 2 hours. Currently on Goodreads this book has a 4.34 rating, I’m giving this a 5 star rating.

Review: I picked this book up because it is everywhere! And I knew I wanted to illustrated version because Jim Kay is a drawing wizard (get it? Harry Potter? Ha ha). And I wasn’t disappointed. Aesthetically this book is just beautiful. I’m sure the story could have held on its own but the illustrations made it for me and I think without them this would have been a four star book for me.

I loved the story. I think you should go into this with no expectations, not because you will be let down just because it is nothing like it is portrayed to be. It is deep and dark and emotional and not the fantasy that I thought it would be but I didn’t mind.

The characters and story is well developed and there wasn’t a character I couldn’t relate too (even if I didn’t like them) and really felt for the situations these people were in.

This book is a heartbreaker though so be prepared.

Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

