My Favourite Reads of 2016

2016 has been a brilliant year from me in so many ways, getting engaged was certainly the highlight! But it’s also been a fantastic reading year for me. I started my bookstagram and this blog, unknown to me how kind people would be and how much joy I’ve got out of both. I’ve also smashed any reading records I’ve ever held and read over 200 books. I am planning on wrapping up my year but I’m not finished reading yet and I’ll probably do this New Year’s Eve. Till then I’m bringing you my favourite reads of 2016!

The Summer I Turned Pretty trilogy by Jenny Han just felt so right to me. It was just so a nostalgic read for me and sparked a wave of other young adult romances for me to discover.
Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma. This book is the first book I’ve ever read that made me truely question my moral stance on anything. This book destroyed me and it will stay with me for many years to come.

The Shepherd’s Life by James Rebanks was just such a fantastic read for me. Being a Cumbrian I love anything about my home county and this book in exceptionally interesting.
Look Who’s Back by Timur Vermes was a book in not sure how I found but I’m so glad I did. I laughed till tears fell down my face and it was a lovely fuck you to Hitler as well as a scary look into what could be modern fascism.
I read all the books in The Mortal Instruments series and The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare this year. It was Cassandra Clare that set me off on a path of fantasy novels that I wouldn’t have even looked at before. It was certainly Clockwork Angel that made me want to make fantasy a firm favourite in my future books.

The Diary of a Teenage Girl by Phoebe Gloeckner. I wanted the film on Netflix and fell in love. This was also my first ever graphic novel and I devoured it like I eat cake, greedily and wanting more.
The Joy of Tax by Richard Murphy was my first economical book. Before this year I was never really a none fiction reader, this book blew me out of the water and has increased my thirst for knowledge.
2016 is the year I discovered Colleen Hoover and subsequently read everything she’s ever written. My favourite though is Ugly Love, that I can’t wait to read again, and again, and again. Tissues at the ready!
The Thousandth Floor by Katgering McGee was just so incredibly intricate. It is a dystopian packed full of intelligence and drama.
Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi has to be my most important book of 2016. If you have not read this book you need to pick this up now.
Death Note Volune 1: Boredom by Tsugumi Ohba and Takeshi Obata was my first manga and has awaken a beast in me. This story is addictive, so much so that I’ve gone from buying the first one second hand to having ordered them all new to proudly display on my shelves. I know this is a series I’ll read again and a genre I’m so excited to explore in 2017.
And there we have it! Don’t make me choose a favourite out of these because I just can’t! Let me know your favourite books of 2016 or any recommendations in the comments below!

Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

