The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon by Stephen King.

Synopsis: On a six mile hike on the Maine-New Hampshire branch of the Appalachian Trail, nine-year-old Trisha McFarland quickly tires of the constant bickering between her older brother, Pete, and her recently divorced mother. But when she wonders off by herself, and then tries to catch up by attempting a shortcut, she becomes lost in a wilderness maze full of peril and terror.

Book Facts: This book was published in November 2005. My copy was published by Pocket Books Paperback and was 264 pages long. It was a really quick read, I read this in under 3 hours; partly due to the pulling power that Stephen King has on me to keep reading. This book has a 3.56 rating on Goodreads which I think is about right for this book. I’m giving this a 3.5 stars, which I will round up to a 4 stars on Goodreads.

Review: This will be short because I’m doing this on spoiler free.

Fear comes in all shapes and sizes. This is not a horror novel in the sense of the paranormal or a serial killer but it is a horror in the sense that this is something horrific that could happen in real life. This book is cold and chilling and realistically frightning.
It has a 9 year old narrator who reads like a nine year old but not in a particularly unreliable narrator sense, I don’t really like those. It’s not as in depth as some of his books and I think from this I missed the abundance of carefully interwoven characters like in Needful Things for instance. This book is mainly from one view and is an ongoing narrative that is very rarely more than the rambling of a nine year old.

This book does evoke emotion and a sense of dread for most of it. It also has a lot about baseball, I’ve never watched a baseball game so that pretty much went over my head. I liked the premise of this book but I didn’t really connect with it in a way I’ve connected with his other books.

This may spill more into thriller than horror but that didn’t disappoint me. You rarely come across an author like Stephen King that can make you interested in reading a story about a topic you have no interest in. No it wasn’t my favourite but it was still a gripping story and one you should pick up.

Tell me your favourite Stephen King novel in the comments below.

Want to see more of what I’m reading? Please feel free to add me on my social media: 

https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/30905301-laura

Instagram: CutLooseBookLoose

Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

