Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Surtherland.

‘Why do you kiss me like that?’… ‘like what?’… ‘like you’re in love with me’… ‘it’s the only way I know how’.

Synopsis: Henry Page is a film buff and a hopeless romantic. He’s waiting for that slo-mo, heart-palpitating, can’t-eat-can’t-sleep kind of love that he’s seen in the movies. So the last person he expects to fall in love with is Grace.

Grace Town is not your normal leading lady. She dresses in oversized men’s clothing, smells like she hasn’t washed in weeks and walks with a cane. She’s nobody’s idea of a dream girl, but Henry can’t stop thinking about her.

There’s something broken about Grace; a small part of her soul is cracked from the secrets in her past. Henry wants nothing more than to put them back together again, but will she let him? 

Book Facts: This book was published in October this year (2016) so it’s a pretty new release. My edition was published by Hot Key Books. This book is 320 pages long. It took me a while to get into this book but it probably only took me about 5 hours to read. It currently has a 3.9 star rating on Goodreads. I think that’s fair. I’d probably give this a 3.5 star which I will wind up to four stars on Goodreads. Also this book has one of the most unique and beautiful covers I’ve ever seen:

Review: This will be spoiler free as it is the kind of book that will be ruined with the little details. This book is the little details. It’s full of inside jokes that sometimes make you feel like you’re invaiding something you shouldn’t. In fact that whole book has that kind of diary feel in the sense that it felt really personal like I shouldn’t really be reading it.

This book had a good story, not particularly nice but well thought out. Did I feel like it was brand new and exciting? No. This book very much felt like a lot of contemporary young adult books do; there’s a hard theme and the protagonist is trying to figure everything out.

I think stereotypical young adult themes are necessary in the sense that I think it’s important for teenagers to know they aren’t alone but I can’t help but wish there would be a young adult book that would shock me with its plot line.

It also has that kind of dialogue that makes you think are these teenagers or 50 year olds? I’m nearly 30 and I don’t speak like this. I did like some of the cultural references though. 

It’s one you should pick up if you love John Green, David Levithan or authors that swim in that kind of pool. I found it had a similar feel to The Perks of Being a Wallflower but with less detatchement for the characters. 

Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

