The Light Between Oceans by ML Steadman.

The Notebook with kidnap.

Synopsis: A boat washes up on the shore of a remote lighthouse keeper’s island. It holds a dead man and a crying baby. The only two islanders, Tom and his wife Izzy, are about to make a devastating decision. They break the rules and follow their hearts. What happens next will break yours.

Book Facts: This book was first published in July 2012 though I’ve only really heard about it the last couple of months, that’s probably because of the film based on this book. It was published by Scribner. My copy was published by Black Swab being a U.K. Edition. It’s 343 pages long and it took me quite a while to read. Probably about ten hours though I never felt particularly like the book was dragging. This book currently has a 3.99 rating on goodreads. I’m giving this a 3.5 star that I’ll round up to 4 stars on the goodread’s site.

Review: I think if you’ve read a few of my posts before that you’ll know how often I tend to say that I’m just not a fan of historical fiction then somehow this year I seem to have picked up so much from this genre. I think that I associate historical fiction with books about long dead kings and queens that I’m just not really interested in. I have come to discover that I do like stories about ordinary people in historical times.

That brings me to this book, The Light Between Oceans. A book I happened to pick up because I hadn’t brought a book with me to work one day and I saw it and thought this is probably the best of the chart offerings I had. And I genuinely think if I hadn’t have started reading this book, even if I had bought it I probably wouldn’t have read it. So I’m glad that I was in the position that I did.

I think if you’re looking for a packed adventure book, you’re not gonna find it here. Although this book has story, it is delicate and slowly developing not fast paced full of twists and turns. But it is beautifully tragic and full of real human emotion.

I think this book had the potential to be a 5 star book for me had it continued on as it started. I found this book went flat as it carried on. This book felt realistic in the sense that it felt like a real life but also it meant that I wasn’t always as entertained as I would have wanted to be.

It was a weepy though. I think if you like a turn of the century feel to your writing then you should give this a go.

Thanks for reading 🙂

2 thoughts on “The Light Between Oceans by ML Steadman.

Leave a Reply

