What Light by Jay Asher

‘It’s your heart. No one else gets a say in that.’

Synopsis: Sierra’s family runs a Christmas tree farm in Oregon – it’s an idyllic place for a girl to grow up, except that every year they have to pack up and move to California to set up their Christmas tree lot for the season. So Sierra lives two lives: her life in Oregon and her life at Christmas. And leaving one always means missing the other. Until this particular Christmas, when Sierra meets Caleb, and one life begins to eclipse the other. 

Book Facts: This book was published in October this year (2016) by Razorbill. My copy was published by Macmillan as is 249 pages long but a super quick read, I devoured this in just over 3 hours. This book has a 3.59 star rating on Goodreads. I rate with my heart so this book is getting a 5 stars off me!

Review: I think the first thing that attracted me to this book was how beautiful it is; I mean just look at it:

It even has these little chapter titles that look like Christmas tree lights:

I read the back and thought I want to give this a go. It looks festive and cute and I just wanted something I could fall into for a while. I didn’t notice this book was by Jay Asher until I got it home. I read Thirteen Reasons Why earlier this year and I wasn’t a huge fan, these seemed just so different to that so I was still eager to give this a go.

And you know what? I’m super glad I did. You know when you watch one of those really emotional Christmas films where there’s issues but it’s all about pulling together and loving each other? That was this book. It felt like a cuddle and a hot chocolate to me.

But this book isn’t just sugary sweet, I don’t think I would have enjoyed it had it just been a romance or a Christmas story. It had a bit of substance which I really liked about this. I spent a good majority of the last third of the book in tears, by the good and the bad so be warned.

I think if you like romance and sentimentality and the Christmas spirit you will love this book. If you hate any/all of these I’d avoid it at all costs. This book was cheesy as hell, but I really loved that.

No this book is not the most profound book ever written but it made me feel and as I said above I tend to rate a book on how well it stirs emotions in me. There’s a whirlpool inside my heart right now! This book was just fabulous. Probably one of the best YA I’ve read this year.

Leave a Reply

