Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi

This book is so important.

Synopsis: the story of two half sisters, separated by forces beyond their control: one sold into slavery, the other married to a British slaver. The deprecate stories of generations told through each member.

Book Facts: This book was published in June this year (2016) by Knopf. I borrowed this book on the Overdrive app from my local library but I love it so much that I’ve pre-ordered the hardback for when it comes out in January next year. This book is 305 pages and caused me great dilemma. I tried to saver this book, I knew it was something life changing from the first chapter but because it was so good I found myself speeding through it even when I was consciously trying not too. ‘I’ll only read 10 more pages’ turned into fifty quite quickly. I probably read this in about 6 hours. This book has a 4.41 star rating currently on goodreads, I’m giving this a solid 5 stars, the only fault with this book is that I need more!

Review: This is a spoiler free review. This is spoiler free because I went into reading this book with such little knowledge about what it was about and the impact of this book was explosive. 

This was an emotional rollercoaster. As a white person I feel like such a cunt that I still live in this white bubble when I have this privilege that I take completely for granted. The impact of things in this book that were happening in the sixties that rang home with news stories I read today; police brutality, poverty, a lack of educational opportunities, harassment, drugs and the general unfair treatment black people receive. I don’t think this book could have come at a more crucial time in the black lives matter movement. This has opened my eyes. I will no longer be a bystander.

Beyond the politics of this book, this is so beautifully written. I say time and again how uninterested I am in historical fiction but my goodness I’ve read some fantastic historical fiction this year. This book is by far the best. The characters and plot lines are so intricate that I feel like I’ve lived through all people, seen these places and felt such emotions. These lives tarnished by the greed of other people. I feel like I’ve gone through a break up reading this book. This could be a history book, it reads like fact and of course a lot f it is based in it.

I wish that I could read this book again for the first time but I’m sure this is a book I will come back to again and again. This book is important and brilliant and if you haven’t read it, you need to now.

Leave a Reply

