The Ultimate Book Tag

I love doing book tags so here is another one. And not just any old book tag, no, THE ULTIMATE BOOK TAG! Please feel free to do this tag and tag me in it so I can see what your answers are too! Here goes: 

  1. Do you get sick whilst reading in the car? I never used to when I was younger but the older I get the more prone I seem to have become to travel sickness, so in short yes.
  2. Which author’s writing style do you think is completely unique to you and why? There’s this author called Dathan Auerbach who wrote this book called Penpal. It started off as a creepypasta and he made it into a full length novel. I’ve never seen a full length creepypasta novel before and I think it adds a completely new unique dimension to the physical book realm. I love creepypasta so if anyone knows of anymore full length creepypasta esq novels please let me know in the comments below.
  3. Harry Potter series of the Twilight saga? Give 3 points to defend your answer. This is stupidly hard for me. I have so much love for both but let’s face it, Harry Potter is just overall better (New Moon ruined the saga for me). Firstly there and more books in HP and I loved them all. Secondly I think there is greater world building in HP and the character development is just top notch, Twilight doesn’t have the same level of these for me. Thirdly HP is just so god damn magical!
  4. Do you carry a book in your bag? And what else is in your handbag? Yes I do, I hate the thought of being in desperate need of a book and not having one. I also carry my cat purse, tissues, nasel spray, pain killers, spare socks and my keys.
  5. Do you smell your books? Every book lover smells books. New books smell incredible, old books smell incredible. Book smell.
  6. Books with or without little illustrations? I like a little illustration or a big one. I find block text terrifying so a little picture once in a while is great.
  7. What book did you love whilst you read it then later realised it wasn’t as well written as you first thought? This is a tough one, usually if something is really badly written I know straight away. For example The Lux series is not Armentrout’s greatest piece of work but I still loved it. I was obsessed with Whatever by Micheal Houellebecq when I was at university (my favourite tutor loved it) but the more I’ve read it the less it seems important and the more it sounds like a middle aged man who needs to get a fucking grip.
  8. Do you have any funny stories involving books from your childhood? Not really. I read a lot as a child but nothing significantly funny pops to mind I’m afraid.
  9. What’s the thinnest book on your shelf? Printer’s Devil Court by Susan Hill. It’s only on my shelf till I take it back to the library though!
  10. What’s the thickest book on you shelf? The Lux bind ups are huge, they’re probably the thickest.
  11. Do you write as well as you read? Is there an aspiring author in you? I think part of every Reading wants to write a book. I did write a novel, it was awful. But I still write bits all the time. I’m not great wordsmith but one day I may get my chance (or maybe not who knows?).
  12. When did you get into reading? I don’t remember when I started, my mum always read to me when I was little. I always remember reading books right through school. At uni I stopped reading for fun because there was so much to read for my courses and I probably didn’t pick reading for fun back up till I was 23 or 24. It was actually Twilight and The Hunger Games that made me want to read again so I always keep them on my shelves.
  13. What’s your favourite classic book? I’m not into anything that isn’t written in modern English. I just struggle with it and I don’t enjoy it. I think you should read for happiness. So my classic favourite is quite modern, The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath.
  14. In school was your best subject English? I was a mediocre English student. I didn’t like being forced to read and write things I wasn’t interested in. I was good at Sociology, that’s where I found my academic passion.
  15. If you were given a book you’d previously read and hated as a gift, what would you do? This just wouldn’t happen. I’m very vocal about what I want for birthdays and Christmas etc. I don’t think people I know dare to surprise me with books, I just direct them to my Amazon wish list.
  16. What is a lesser known series that you think is similar to The Hunger Games or Harry Potter? Battle Royale isn’t a series but it’s incredibly similar to The Hunger Games. The 5th Wave series reminded me of The Hunger Games too but that’s pretty well known. And I’ve never read anything like HP before.
  17. What is your favourite word? Perpendicular.
  18. Vampires or fairies? Have you read The Mortal Instruments? If you have you know why I think fairies are just cruel fuckers I love to read about. I’ve read too much about vampires.
  19. Love triangle or forbidden love? I like both! I know people hate with a passion in some cases both. But I quite like both in books, wouldn’t want to face either in real life. The worst book I ever read was Forbidden which really is forbidden love!
  20. Full on romance book or action with a bit of romance mixed in? I probably read more of the latter. It has to be incredibly interesting to make me want to read a pure romance as they can be incredibly dull.
Leave a Reply

