NaNoWriMo – Decisions

I used to take part in NaNoWriMo every year at one point. Not that I ever finished a book in those attempts but it was great for the joy of writing,  the excitement that one day I may be able to finish a book. And I did, 3 years ago I wrote a novel, it was terrible but I did it.

Then I got happy. I met the man of my dreams, I’m more content than I think I ever have been. But my writing has declined. I am an unhappy writer. I am the most focused when I’m miserable and my depression is at it’s worst. I used to spend all night writing and all day doused up on energy drinks.

Being as happy as I am, I’ve traded this in for cuddly night in reading books and much earlier bed times. And although I wouldn’t trade writing for my mental health I do miss writing.

I have ideas for things I want but I’ve had no drive but I have been struck with an urge to to write what’s real to me.

So for my NaNoWriMo I will be writing a collection of essays with stories of my day to day life with anxiety called Things That Make Me Uncomfortable. I can’t loose with this project, every story feels like therapy.

Is anyone else doing this? Let me know what you’re writing in the comments below 🙂

Leave a Reply

