The Selection by Kiera Cass

Holy crap! 💩 

Synopsis: In a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels The Selection is the chance of a lifetime: to compete for gorgeous Prince Maxon’s heart. But for America Singer it means turning her back on her secret love, and leaving home for a prize she doesn’t want. Then America meets Maxon and all her plans start to crumble. Can the life she’s always dreamed of compare to a future she never imagined?

Book Facts: This book was released in April 2012 originally by HarperTeen. The editions I have are published by Harper Collins and are very pretty for paperbacks. The edition I read was 327 pages long and I read it in under 5 hours. This is another really fast read, mainly because you kind of get propelled along by the story and putting the book down isn’t really a viable option.

Spoiler Free Review: I don’t know why I bought this book. Well I do. The whole series was £6 on The Book People website. I’d been looking at this series for a while and even though I read The Siren by the same author earlier this year and loved it, I had it in my head these books weren’t going to be great. This book has a 4.16 star rating. I’m giving this a 4.5 star on here which will be a 5 star on Goodreads since they don’t believe in half stars!

What I needed was for someone to say ‘Hey Laura, like The Hunger Games? Like The Bachelor? Then read The Selection’. Because that is what this book is and had someone sold it to me like this I would have read it years ago.

I don’t want to give anything away about this book, you don’t need to know anything you just NEED to read it but for those who have read it; Prince Maxon is Chad Michael Murray in A Cinderella Story right? That’s what’s in my head!

This book has some stereotypical young adult feel tropes but I think they were all pretty much forgotten/forgiven once I fell in the story.

I think this book was a fantastic set up to the series but I feel the read drama is going to start in the next book. I think shit is about to go down!

Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

