The Thousandth Floor by Katherine McGee

Now I’ve finished this I have no idea what to do with my life. Suggestions in the comments.

Synopsis: thank you to HarperCollns who penned this synopsis wonderfully:


Book Facts: This book was released on the 30th of August this year by HarperCollins. It is 448 pages long (though I think my edition may have been around the 438 page mark) and although it has quite small writing I found it impossible to put this book down. I probably read this in about five hours and now I fully regret not saving this book and making it last long. Luckily for me I believe there is a part 2 coming out next year. Please lovely Katherine can I have an early copy? I’m willing to trade major amounts of hobnobs for the next part of this story! Goodreads has currently given this book a 3.74 star rating but I’m giving this the full wacking 5 stars!

Review (spoiler free): I was really into dystopian when the genre first started to emerge in young adult. From the moment I read The Hunger Games I knew it was just for me. But I read myself dry. And consequently I haven’t picked up a dystopian in about six months. And having not really done too much research into this book I didn’t actually realise this was a dystopian. I’m selling this book to you guys as it was pitched to me, 90210 meets a futuristic society.

I love that this was like a soap opera. I felt the whole way through that this would make an amazing tv series. It is dark and mysterious and yet completely relatable in terms of human emotions and interactions. This book brings into light important discussions in class, homosexuality, technological advancements, drug use and other more taboo subjects without being in any way preachy or glorifying things I hate to see glorified.

This book is action packed, just when you think you know something, the next chapter will knock you off your feet. None of the characters you meet at the start of the book will be anything like you thought they were by the end. Not all the characters are particularly likeable in this book but they are fascinating to follow. McGee has this wonderful way of developing characters so you grow with them and absorb what they know. There are a lot of people in this book and I didn’t get lost once.

The plot is fast paced and the world building had me captivated. 

There’s things in this book that have made a lasting impression on me and have really made me think.

And finally I love all the covers for this book, so beautiful! Why did it have to end and break my heart?

Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

