Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake.

Shut the front door!

Synopsis: In every generation on the island of Fennbirn a set of triplets is born: three queens, all equal heirs to the crown, all possessed of a coveted magic.

Book Facts: this book was published on the 20th of September this year (2016) by HarperTeen. My edition was published by Macmillan and came in one of three possible covers that I now want all of. It’s 416 pages long and because it’s young adult it only took me a few hours to read which was lovely. This book has a 3.38 star rating currently on Goodreads. I’m giving this a 4 stars.

Review: I’m going to keep this brief and spoiler free because I know with this book being fairly new there will still be plenty of people out there wanting to read this. 

This book is a weird kind of fantasy dystopian that reminded me of a cross between the hunger games and game of thrones. It is certainly brutal, certain bits of this book made me want to throw up a little bit.

This book has fantastic character development and the story is smooth and flowing. If you like epic fantasy but don’t have the patience to read through all the laws of the land then this book is for you. It is straight into the action but not so much that you don’t know what’s going on.

I really enjoyed this story that seems familiar and yet unique. 

I know this is going to at least be a duology since the second book One Dark Throne has been announced for sometime in 2017 (can I have it now please?).

Thanks for reading 🙂

2 thoughts on “Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake.

  1. thievingbooks says:

    I’m currently reading this as an audiobook! and I’m only on my Chapter 3 LOL, and i’m enjoying it so far ❣️ i’m also new here and would love if we can be friends and all! I posted my very first review too hehe

    Like

Leave a Reply

