Cartes Postales from Greece by Victoria Hislop.

You know when you find a book and it’s just different? And it makes you feel different? This is one of those rare books for me. This is not a review, this is seriously just going to be me gushing about how much I love this book! 

Synopsis: 


Bookish Facts: This book is a very recent release – 22nd of September 2016; published by Headline Review. It’s 448 pages long but because it’s multi media and a lot of it is pictures I read this in about 3/4 hours. It currently has a 4.37 stars on Goodreads, I am giving this 5 stars and this is why…

Review: I picked this book up from a Supermarket. I was never really one for chart books but recently I’ve started to be more interested in different books from this section. Last week I was just having a little look and saw this. I’m not even sure why I picked this up but it was a total impulse buy.

This is the story of a woman receiving postcards from Greece from a man she doesn’t know, thissubsequently  leads to the story of this man telling the stories of people he meets in Greece.

And this book is just fantastic. It is like nothing I have ever read before. It is the Inception of books but not confusing. It is full of stories that range from love, to religion, to economics and politics, even a little scary at time. It shines a light on the Greek people.

I now need to visit Greece.

I don’t want to go into too much detail because picking up this book and not really knowing what it was about felt like a euphoric experience as I discovered it. 

If you’re hanging onto summer l, if you love to discover new cultures or if you just love delving into something different and new then please pick this up. I think this is my read of 2016 so far.

One thought on “Cartes Postales from Greece by Victoria Hislop.

  1. Odile Gausden says:

    Thanks for your review . I agree with most of what you said . I didn’t personally select this book ; It was chosen by someone in my reading group . The title and cover put me off a bit as I assumed it to be a light hearted travel book and I prefer a more serious and literary read . However , it gradually dawned on me that there was far more to it than I anticipated . Yes , it reads easily and it is not as literary and clever as Rachel Cusk’s book Ouline which is similar as it is also set in Greece and is a series of short stories within a novel .The difference is that this book is truly about Greece and Hislop’s love for the country and its people ( warts and all ) shines through .
    I now want to go there and see it for myself . I might even do what Ellie did ..and stay . Life is too short .
    All the best to you .

    Like

Leave a Reply

