Shadow House – The Gathering by Dan Poblocki.

Synopsis: Some houses are more than just haunted… They’re hungry. Dash, Dylan, Poppy, Marcus and Azumi don’t know this at first. They each think they’ve been summoned to Shadow House for innocent reasons.

But there’s nothing innocent about shadow house.

Something within its walls is wickedly wrong. Nothing – and nobody – can be trusted.

Hallways move. Doors vanish. Ghosts appear. Children disappear. 

And the way out? That’s disappeared too…

Book Facts: This book is a new release! I hardly ever read new releases. I actually picked this up cheap from a supermarket so I probably should have guessed but it was released in August 2016 by Scholastic. This book is 215 pages long. I read it in just over 2 hours. It currently has a 3.85 star rating on Goodreads. I’m giving this 4 stars and I will tell you why.

Review: Have you seen the cover of this book? 

I love this cover! When I saw this in the shop it was a total cover buy! I saw this creepy ass cover and then I saw it was published by Scholastic and I knew I had to give it a chance. 

What I didn’t realise upon picking this up is that this book is in fact an interactive book. Think Goosebump’s pick your own ending books, but without the choices actually changing the outcome of the story and all the extra bits being on an app for your phone (or tablet). Pictures in the book (that give it a Miss Peregrine’s feel) that have a shape on them you must put into the app in order to get the book extra bits.

And the app really does make the difference to the book. Yes it’s a bit faddy but this is a book for 13 year olds, if technology grabs a few extra readers then I think that’s a good thing.

As for the story, had it not had the pictures and the app I’m not sure it would have got as high of a rating as I’ve given it now. The story is ok. Maybe if I was the intended age I would have been petrified but as a 28 year old woman this barely caused a shiver down my spine. But the tone of it is quite gothic which I enjoyed.

I also though the premise was good and the twist at the end was something I hadn’t seen coming. I can also see this working as a series quite well, the set up for the next book at the end of this one has made me want to carry on reading this. Though if the second book isn’t out for a year I’m not sure this would hold my attention long enough to pick it up.

Do I think this book is going to be forgettable? Yes quite probably. But if you want a quick and quirky read I think this is certainly worth considering. 

Leave a Reply

