Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by JK Rowling

Now this isn’t going to be a typical review. I think Harry Potter is well beyond the realms of people needing to read reviews because it is new to them or they’re not sure if they’re gonna read it or not. If you haven’t got a clue what the Harry Potter series is about, where have you been? So instead of a typical review this is just going to be my thoughts and feelings.

I haven’t actually read the entirety of this series. Of course I’ve seen all the films but I was never interested in the books as a child and when I’ve tried to read them as an adult I’ve never had the patience to read the full series.

But I have tackled quite a few larger series of books recently so I’m far my confident in my staying power, but don’t hold me to that.

I have read this book three times before. Once when I was sixteen, once when I was 21 and around three years ago when I was 25. This time round I feel like I’ve got the most out of this book.

The world building in the book is just incredible. I’ve never fully appreciated before just how intricate and fantastical every place setting is.

The magic is also something that is so impressive. Although I realise this may be confused with the spells which are wonderful I am actually referring to the atmosphere. This is the forth time I’ve read this book and it gives me chills every time. It makes me feel like anything is possible and I feel like I’m there.

Plus the story still had me going. I knew perfectly well what was going to happen but I still could not stop myself from turning just one more page, then another and another. 

Reading this again has just been a pleasure and I can’t wait to read the rest of the series.

One thought on “Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by JK Rowling

Leave a Reply

