The Daylight Gate by Jeanette Winterson

Synopsis: 

Book Facts: This is a historical fiction novel, published in August 2012 by Hammer. The book is 194 pages long, so a really lovely short read that I completed in a couple of hours. This has a Goodreads rating of 3.32 stars. I’m giving this a 4 star rating.

Review: This book doesn’t have a particularly high rating on Goodreads which I find pretty hard to understand. I don’t even like historical fiction but I loved this book.

Though maybe it’s because I lived in Lancaster for ten years and have heard a lot about the Pendle witches? But even beyond that, this book is filled with atmosphere and phrases that made my toes curl. The story compelled me to keep reading even when it was gruesome. I thought this was really well written.

If you like historical fiction and witches this is for you and a great tale for Halloween.

Leave a Reply

