The Perks of being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky.

Goodreads Synopsis: 

Bookish Facts: originally published by MTV Books and Pocket Books in Febuary 1999, this book became some what of a cult classic in recent years. It has also been adapted into a film with Emma Watson that I loved and made me what to read the book. It’s 213 pages long and I read it probably in about 3 and a half hours. It’s a really easy read, which doesn’t mean it’s not impactful. This book has a 4.20 star rating on Goodreads. I am giving this 5 stars.

Review: The book moved me more than the film, even though I watched the film first which had the initial shock factor (anyone who knows this book or the film will know what I’m talking about it, but I won’t spoil it for anyone who hasn’t). I loved reading this and in some way letting it unfold even though I pretty much knew what was going to happen.

This is a beautiful and harrowing coming of age story of a 15 year old boy who isn’t quite comfortable with anything and isn’t sure why. It’s about friendships and family and everyone being just as fucked up you are if not more so. It made me happy and sad at the same time. And I loved this so much that I’m going to have to buy this book and read it again as I think the library would probably quite angry if I refused to bring it back.

Leave a Reply

