After by Anna Todd

What the fuck am I doing with my life?

Synopsis: Tessa is a good girl with a sweet, reliable boyfriend back home. She’s got direction, ambition and a mother who’s intent on keeping her that way. But as soon as she arrives at WCU she runs into Hardin, her mother’s worse nightmare. With his tousled brown hair, tattoos and irresistible British accent, Hardin is undeniably attractive but completely different to what Tessa is used to. But he is also rude – to the point of cruelty, even. Tessa should hate Hardin, and she does… Until she finds herself alone with him in his dorm. His dark mood grabs her, and when they kiss, something ignites within her – a passion she’s never known before… Will Tessa risk everything for someone she can’t trust?

Book Facts: this book started off as Harry Styles fan fiction. Why did I pick it up? I honestly don’t know. I’m not a One Direction fan but I love a good new adult romance. This book was originally published by Gallery Books in October 2014 and has about a million other books to follow. This book took me hours to read, mainly because I had to keep putting it down to lie in a dark room. It has a 3.75 rating on Goodreads just proving that Goodreads ratings aren’t always based on how good a book is but how idiotic it’s readers are. I’m giving this book a 2 star rating.

Review: I like all the stereotypical new adult tropes. I like the bad boy who is only a bad boy because he has a terribly dark past; I like the leading girl who is unsure of herself and I of course like a good sexy story. This book had a lot of those stereotypical traits done excruciating badly. One of my massive problems with wattpad to novel is that no one stops the sectional feel. This was not a fluid story this was a collection of scenes rammed together in a book. Fire your editors, they did a shocking job making this readable in one go.

As I said above I love a bad boy, unfortunately our bad boy in this is just a cunt. So much so that sometimes he pretends to be more of a cunt than he actually is to hide his read cuntishness. Confused? So was I. Hardin isn’t just a fuck boy, he’s a massive bellend, no hope, waste of space little boy. He has no redeeming qualities apart from his ability to make a girl come by thrusting his fingers inside her.

Tessa also lived up to the new adult stereotype amazingly. She’s virginal and child like but annoyed that people try to control her when she can’t make a good decision to save her life. She has about as much self respect as I have the willpower I say no to cake) which is none). She pissed me off more than I can say. I fucking hated her too.

As for the rest of the characters that fly from overbearing to psychotic and yet all equally as flat and unnecessary as the last. I wanted to punch her mother and prissy ass Noah in their tiny, one dimensional heads.

This story was fucking stupid. Every aspect I guessed. And though the ending actually surprised me, it also made me want to set this book on fire. I am refusing point blank to carry on this series to retain some kind of dignity for females all over the world.

Urgh, I am done.

Leave a Reply

