Summer Boys by Hailey Abbott

If you read my previous book haul post you know I’ve been craving a good beach romance with some drama and a life lesson or two. So I picked up this book second hand off Amazon because it was super cheap and it looked like it would be a nice easy read. As I sit here looking out of the window at the rain I’m glad I’m wrapped in the warm glow of this book rather than outside in that horrible weather.

Synopsis: First boy, first love, first time. I think that’s all you need to know about this book. It’s a story of 3 cousins at their summer cottages getting on with teenage life.

Bookish Facts: This book was first published in June 2004 by Scholastic. Had I been American I may have discovered this book at the age I was probably meant too (I was 14/15 in 2004). It is 214 pages long but it reads like a much shorter book, I read this in a couple of hours. It currently has a 3.7 star rating on Goodreads which I think is fair, I’m giving this book a 4 star rating.

Review: I just think everything about this book was lovely. Bare in mind I am reviewing this as an adult so there were certain things in this book that were not age appropriate for me. To be truly honest if I thought about it too much this book probably would have made me feel so old but I instead chose to read this and feel nostalgic for the teenage years I remember fondly but wouldn’t go back to if you paid me.

This story focuses around 3 cousins/sisters, all around the age of 16 who spend there summers at these beach cottages. It never seems to pop up how much money these people must have or how little supervision these teenagers seem to be under, but that’s me with my adult had on again.

This book reads like a teenage beach romance. It is dramatic and full of things that I remember being so god damn important as a teenager. I felt for everyone of the main characters and as much as they were very stereotypical this also made them incredibly relatable and I felt so much empathy for them. It may not be the same leve of worry adults face but being a teenage girl is so hard. I remember how hard it was so I related wholeheartedly.

And like most of these beach romances I love the way it made me feel. I finished this book with a sense of happiness and conclusion that only books like this provide. I’m not 16 anymore but it’s fun sometimes to remember. I will Deffo be adding this book to my collection of similar summer books and I know I will pick it up again in the future.

Do you have any beach romances, series or stand alone a you think I should be reading? Let me know in the comments below. 

Leave a Reply

