The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman.

I read Coraline, I read American Gods, what was next? The Ocean at the End of the Lane of course (because this was the one in my local library)!! Here is my review, enjoy!

Goodreads Synopsis: 


Book Facts: This book was first published in June 2013 by William Marrow Books. I’m not sure if there are a lot of different covers for this book but mine reminds me of Nirvana’s Never Mind album cover. 

This story is a tiny 243 pages long compared to American Gods that felt like a monster to me. I read this book in about 3.5 hours and it was a lovely quick read. This book currently has a rating of 3.99 stars on Goodreads. I’m giving this a three stars and if you care to carry on reading I will tell you why.

Review: Is it weird that I found this book far more weird than Coraline? Yes I found this book far more fantastical than a book about a woman who wants to (spoiler alert) sew buttons in a child’s eyes! But I did and I think that’s why I’m so undecided if I like this book or not.

I loved the characters. I felt genuine affection where I needed too and likewise dislike. 

I also liked the story but I feel part of what i didn’t like was by the time we got to the action the book was over. This book I think could have done being double the size it was, there’s so many questions left unanswered that for me didn’t add to the charm of this story.

I also loved the way this is written. It made me feel the disorientation the protagonist must have felt throughout his life, a kind of dream like feeling with beautifully crafted sentences.

But once again I can’t help but dislike how much of this book I didn’t fully get. I want more. So I’m throwing a paddy.

What did you think of this book? What Neil Gaiman book do I need to read next? Let me know in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

