City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare.

There is no way I can (want to) avoid spoilers in this review so if you’ve not read the series I suggest you don’t read this, just go and pick up the books and come back to me so we can fan out together.

‘So much magic, Clary thought, and nothing to bend a broken heart.’

Goodreads Synopsis: 

Bookish Facts: This book was originally published in May 2014 by Margret K. McElderry. This book won the Goodread’s Choice Award for Young Adult Fantasy. My copy of the book was 640 pages long with tiny writing, I think of it had been the same font size as the other books it would have been over 700 pages long. It took me forever to read this book, probably about 15 hours over many days but that’s to do with my lack of concentration not the length. This book has a 4.48 Goodreads rating, I’m giving this a 5 star.

Review: This may be a bit of an unpopular view but what would have made this series for me would have been if the 4th book didn’t exist, the fifth book was shortened and this last book lasted forever.

I loved everything about this book. It was a bit of a slow burner and although I wish it wouldn’t end I did in all honesty feel this book could have been slightly shorter but it’s none the less a great read.

I didn’t think I’d ever get over The Infernal Devices but this book was so cleaver. It wove in the Infernal Devices and introduced the characters of Lady Midnight. I now feel like The Dark Artifices is going to be just another extension of this world which I love. I love how the characters develop, this is one of the big draws of this series and I genuinely feel that I’m loosing friends now this series is over but I have hope they’ll pop up again in the next series.

Plus the feels in this book are in abundance. I cried about 8 times, tears of joy and fear and sadness. For me, Simon loosing his memories killed me but them managing to kind of get him back gave me so much hope. 

The action was brilliant, when we got into the battle it was explosive and I did start to wonder if Clary would get out with everyone alive. The deaths and the changing were devastating and I felt like I’d witnessed a real war.

I also liked that we didn’t quite get a happy ending and that the end was tarnished with this sense of foreboding. Anyone who finished this book and doesn’t want to start Lady Midnight is stronger than me. I am going to have a little break and read some other things but I am thoroughly looking forward to Lady Midnight.

I loved this series. If The Infernal Devices are anything to go by, Cassandra Clare’s writing just gets better and better. I cannot wait to see where she’ll go in the universe but I hope it carries on for a long time! 

What did you think of The Mortal Instruments? Let me know in the comments below. And finally I’m going to leave you with my favourite quotes of the book: 

‘As brilliant as you once were, that’s how evil you have become. It’s a long way to fall.’

‘Weapons, when they break are meanded, can be stronger at the mended places… Perhaps hearts are the same.’

‘Erchomai… I am coming… And now the single word: Veni… I have come.’

‘…the world isn’t divided into the special and the ordinary. Everyone has the potential to be extraordinary. As long as you have a soul and free will, you can be anything, do anything, choose anything.’

‘Every time I think I’m missing a piece of me, you give it back.’

Leave a Reply

