City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare

If you’ve never read this book or the series I wouldn’t suggest reading this, it may be spoilery!

Synopsis: The mortal war is over, and Clary Fray is home in New York, excited about all the possibilities before her. She’s training to become a Shadowhunter and – most importantly of all – she can finally call Jace her boyfriend. But her happiness has come as a price…

Book Facts: This is the 4th book in The Mortal Instruments Series. This book was published in April 2011 by Margret K Elderry books. This book is 438 pages long and I read it in about 6 hours over 3 days (work always gets in the way). This book has a 4.16 star rating currently on Goodreads. I’m giving this a 3 star rating.

Review: I left this series 2 months ago to read The Infernal Devices and ended up reading a load of other stuff but after finally finishing The Clockwork Princess I decided I wanted to get back on with The Mortal Instruments and this was the next book in the series.

I felt like I’d forgotten a lot of what had happened, which no isn’t the books fault but I had to read all my past reviews just to kind of get up to speed and when I was kind of there the start of this book just seemed so slow. I just felt like there was no real plot.

And when the drama arrived I felt a little bit like it was forced, like it was strained to connect what should have been a 3 book series into a 6 book one. There had to be a push to carry on, I just hope the rest of the books don’t feel so forced.

Maybe part of it is because I loved The Infernal Devices so much, I maybe should have read them after I finished this series but with the little hints through Magnus and Camille I’m hoping as the last two books carry on (and with the ending of Clockwork Princess) that we’ll maybe see some of Tessa and Jem!

I’m also not feeling Jace anymore. I realise he’s got a lot going on but he is the most depressing character I think I have every come across. I hope as the books go on that we’ll start to see a bit more of the strong Jace from the beginning.

On the other hand I love Simon’s narrative. I think Simon as a character has come on leaps and bounds, he has become human to me which is funny since he’s now a vampire.

I still love Cassandra’s writing and I realise this may be an unpopular opinion but I was disappointed with this book. I still have so much love for this series though and hope that the last two books will make me forget all about my sadness with this book.

Leave a Reply

