Breathe (Sea Breeze #1) by Abbi Glines.

“You’re everything I write my songs about but can never have.”
Synopsis: ok I stole this bit off Goodreads again but come on! They know what they’re doing.


Book Facts: this book is new adult, it started off young adult but trust me new adult is what it is. This book was released in May 2011 by Wild Child Publishing originally. I’m not sure who published my copy but the cover is awful! I don’t often prefer people on the cover but a nice beach image would be a lot nicer than a close up of a guitar. I read all 333 pages of this book in 4 hours. I did not put it down once. This book has a 3.89 rating currently in Goodreads, I’m giving this a four star rating.

Review: I’m going to try and keep this as spoiler free as I can in terms of content but structural slips are probably going to happen.

The first two Abbi Gline’s novels I read I wasn’t really impressed with. You may wonder why I would choose to pick up a third? Well this is the one that I had my eye on all along and I thought if I didn’t like this one that I wouldn’t read any more of her books; but I did.

I really liked this book. The story leaves nothing to the imagination, from the start I knew where this story was going to go, it’s the typical plot of a LOT of new adult novels. And the characters are as flat as a pancake, you will have read everyone of these characters before. BUT…

I just really liked it. This story was just entertaining to me. I love a good romance, especially set on a beach with a lot of drama and a lot of feelings. If you love a good summer contemporary with a bit of sexy thrown in there then this is a great book. It’s probably not going to knock your socks off but it scratches the itch it intends too. 

I might not remember this story in a years time but I will remember the way it made me feel and I’m sure I’ll pick it up again next summer. I’m certainly going to hold on to it. 

I believe that this series is a companion series (please correct me if I’m wrong) and this interests me. Ever since Anna and the French Kiss I’ve been looking for something else to wrap me up in a series of stories with a common theme. I loved Sea Breeze and I’d like to visit there again soon. 

“For the first time in my life, my dreams aren’t about me… They’re about you.”

Leave a Reply

