Library Book Haul 13/08/2016

It’s been three weeks since my last library book haul. I want to support my local library so I plan on taking out 3 books every three weeks (and reading one library book a week), which worked for my first haul so I have hope for this actually happening. I really enjoyed the last books I got and I just think my library has a fantastic collection. I didn’t have any books I wanted to pick up this time so I decided to just go in and see what I fancied and these are the books I ended up with…


1.The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman.

Synopsis: It began for our narrator 40 years ago when the family lodger stole their car and committed suicide in it, stirring up scientists powers best left undisturbed. Dark creatures from beyond this world are on the loose, and it will take everything our narrator has just to stay alive: there is a primal horror here, and menace unleashed – within his family and from the forces that have gathered to destroy it.

His only defence is three woman, on a farm at the end of the lane. The youngest of them claims that her duck pond is an ocean. The oldest can remember the Big Bang.

Why I picked this up: I’ve had my eye on this for a while but for one reason or another I haven’t got round to reading it, now seemed like the perfect time. The story sounds fantastic and I love the front cover! I’ve really started to get into some fantasy this year so I’m sure I’ll love this. Plus Coraline is one of my favourite stories ever!

2. Panic by Lauren Oliver.

Synopsis: It’s a game played by the desperate – graduating teenagers who enter knowing they are gambling with their lives, but are prepared to risk it all for the life-changing victors prize.

Heather never thought she would compete. She’s never seen herself as fearless, as one to stand out from the crowd. But when she finds something, and someone, to fight for, she will discover that she is braver that she ever thought.

Dodge has never been afraid of PANIC. His secret will fuel him, and get him all the way through the game; he’s sure of it. But what he doesn’t know is that he’s not the only one with a secret.

Everyone had something to play for.

Why I want to read this: this was on my TBR so long ago and I lost interest in reading it but I’ve seen the trailer for Nerve everywhere so when I saw this I thought yes I’m in the mood now. This seems dark and exciting so I’m really looking forward to picking this up.

3. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern.

Synopsis: in 1886, a mysterious travelling circus becomes an international sensation. Open only at night, constructed entirely in black and white, Le Cirque des Reves delights all who wander it’s circular paths and warm themselves at its bonfire.

Although there are acrobats, fortune tellers and contortionists, the Circus of Dreams is no conventional spectacle. Some tents contain clouds, some ice. The circus seems, almost to cast a spell over its aficionados, who call themselves the reveurs- the dreamers. At the heart of the story is the tangled relationship between two young magicians, Celia, the enchanter’s daughter, and Marco, the sourcer’s apprentice. At the behest of their shadowy masters, they find themselves locked in a deadly contest, forced to test the very limits of the imagination, and of their love…

Why I got this: This was everywhere on bookstagram and booktube a while ago and I want to be part of it. Though I didn’t read the synopsis till now, drawn in by the pretty cover I’m so glad that it actually sounds really good too.

So that’s that. Are you on Goodreads? Add me as a friend: https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/30905301-laura

Thanks for reading, have a great weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

