Existence by Abbi Glines

Synopsis (thanks again Goodreads):

Book Facts: This book was originally published in December 2011 by Wild Child Publishing. It’s the first book in the Existance trilogy. This book is 188 pages long and I read it in about 3 hours. This has a Goodread’s rating of 3.95 stars. I’m going against the grain and giving this book a two star rating.

Review (probably with spoilers): I didn’t particularly like the last Abbi Glines book I read that was a New Adult romance set in a coastal community (which I usually love). This book was a paranormal young adult romance that made me question my love of the genre in the first place.

This was written for a younger audience in the sense that the romance in it was very PG which was fine with me. But I don’t think a young adult audience is a reason to write such a dumbed down book, teenagers aren’t stupid.

I felt like the whole plot was just setting up the fact that this wasn’t going to be a stand alone book. My problem with this is that I don’t think there was enough material here to make one decent book. Maybe if instead of dragging this out to be a trilogy, if she’d instead put all these books together as one it might have been better.

A lot of nothing happened in this book. There was a lot of drama added for the sake of plot development that just confirms to me that there’s nothing going on with this story in the first place. Characters like Mirander and Leif were thrown in to try and give this plotless novel some depth.

I also can’t understand why anyone who just met someone would be so head over heels in love with someone that they’d risk everything for them. IT DOESNT WORK LIKE THAT! The insta love in this wasn’t only completely unbelievable but about as sexy as a mushroom. The love triangle element only angered me more.

The characters were poor, the plot was poor, the writing was ok but her portray of a mental health hospital was more unbelievable than death falling in love with a human. This whole thing was a hot mess to me. The more I think about it, the more I want to bang it down to a one star.

I also hated that this book ended on a cliff hanger so obviously intended to make you buy the next book. Well no thank you Abbi Glines, I just don’t think we get along.

Leave a Reply

