Every Day by David Levithan

What a ride!!!

The Book Facts: This book is young adult. I find it hard to put in a category; romance, sci-fi, fantasy, contemporary? Probably all 4 and more. This book is 322 pages long and took me about 7 hours to read, or there abouts. It was published originally in 2012 by Knopf Books for Young Readers. This has a 4 star rating on Goodreads which is exactly what I am giving this book too.

Spoiler review: This book is both everything I thought it would be and nothing like what I was expecting. It has elements of both. I just really enjoyed delving into this story that twisted and turned in directions I wasn’t expecting. The only reason I’m giving this 4 and not 5 stars is because one of the story leads kinda fizzled out and the end was a bit disappointing. I’m hoping this is the beginning of a series? Am I right? Let me know in the comments below!

Edit: I’d also like to express how much I loved the questions this book made me raise. Especially about gender and love. Is it the inside that counts? Do societal views often get in the way of what we really want? Is different weird? This book made me really think which is especially fantastic from a young adult book. 

Quote: ‘”How did you know it was me?” I have to ask. “The way you looked at me,” she says. “It couldn’t have been anyone else”.’

Leave a Reply

