My Goodreads Clear Out

Is anyone else a Goodreads horder? At one point I had over 700 books on my Goodreads TBR shelf (I think To Be Bought shelf would be a more appropriate title), which even for an avid reader is completely realistic, so I purged. But recently it has started to increase alarmingly again (168 books in fact), so I’m going to nip this problem in the bud before I’ve got hundreds of books to get rid of again. So here is my process; what is on my list, what I’m getting rid or/what I’m keeping and why. This is going to be a long post so if you want to grab a brew and maybe a biscuit or two….

All sorted? Excellent, lets begin.

  1. The Graces by Laure Eve. KEEP because this book sounds like The Craft which I still love.
  2. The Awakening of Sunshine Girl by Paige McKenzie. Keep because although I’m a little unsure on weather I want to read this I am still intrigued to find out what happens (sequel to The Haunting of Sunshine Girl).
  3. Another Day in the Death of America: A Chronicle of Ten Short Lives by Gary Younge. Keep because shootings in America are an epidemic and I think we should all know what is going on.
  4. Wool by Hugh Howey. Removed because it just doesn’t appeal to me anymore. I did read half of this book once and then dropped it in the bath, I can’t have been that bothered about it because it was years ago!
  5. Culture Wars in British Literature: Multiculturalism and National Identity b Tracy J. Price. Removed because although it sounds interesting, I don’t think I’ll ever get round to reading it.
  6. The Ghost Files by Apryl Baker. Removed because it sounds a lot more juvenile than I remember.
  7. When I’m by Emily Bleeker. Removed because I must have been feeling romantical (which is a real word, I’m sure) at the time. I do not want to read a gender reversed P.S I Love You, I think it would kill me.
  8. The Girls by Emma Cline. Removed, I think I only added it because everyone in the entire world seemed to be reading it and I got swept away, looking at in now I don’t think I’d pick it up if I bought it.
  9. The Stepford Wives by Ira Levin. Keep because I heard this was more of a horror kind of feel than the film and I totally want to read it.
  10. Dark Matter by Blake Crouch. Keep as this book isn’t even out yeand I feel like its been on my TBR list forever and yet I’m still eager. Plus I really enjoyed the Pines trilogy by Crouch.
  11. Smoke Gets in Your Eyes: and Other Lessons from the Crematory by Caitlin Doughty. Removed because  saw this on booktube and got excited for about 10 seconds. I can’t see myself ever picking this up.
  12. The Wrong House: The Architecture of Alfred Hitchcock by Steven Jacobs. Removed because once again this was a want that has passed.
  13. A Vision of Fire by Gillian Anderson. Keep, I actually plan on getting this out of the library next time I’m there. It’s written by Gillian Anderson for frigs sake! Excited!
  14. Beneath the Surface: Killer Whales, SeaWorld, and the Truth Beyond Blackfish by John Hargrove. Keep because if there’s more after the documentary I need to hear it.
  15. Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare. Removed but only because I physically own this book and I’m on my way to reading it so I don’t feel like it needs to be there.
  16. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas. Removed, I know this might not be a popular opinion but I wasn’t really that interested in this book when I put it on the list. Now any interest has completely wavered. I just don’t think I’d enjoy it.
  17. Ring by Koji Suzuki. Keep! The film terrified me. I think the book will be even creepier.
  18. Fallen by Lauren Kate. Removed. It just doesn’t really pull me in.
  19. The Selection by Kiera Cass. Keep. I just read The Siren and loved it, so I’d like to give this series a go.
  20. Kiss Me Firby Lottie Moggach. Removed because its a thriller and I’m totally and completely out of my thriller stage now.
  21. In Real Life: Love, Lies ad Identity in the Digital Age by Nev Schulman. Keep. I loved catfish (both documentary and series) and I met my boyfriend online so I’m really interested in this book and books like this in general.
  22. Made You Up by Francesca Zappia. Removed. This book always looks good but I don’t think I really read the synopsis before I put it on my list, now I have I don’t think its for me.
  23. Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler. Keep. I think this book has a really interesting premise and I still want to read it.
  24. Nerve by Jeanne Ryan. Removed. This book sounds good but I can’t see myself getting to it any time soon. I’m just into books with dystopian feels anymore.
  25. Survive the Night by Danielle Vega. Removed. For exactly the same reason as the alst book.
  26. Every Day by David Levithan Removed just because I’ve got on loan from the library right now, its the next book I’m going to read and I don’t need a reminder.
  27. Scarlett Says by Scarlett Moffatt. Removed. I added this when I was watching a lot of Gogglebox and now I’m not I’m just not really interested in reading it anymore.
  28. Dead Girls Society by Michelle Krys. Removed. I can’t even remember adding this one!
  29. The Girl in the Blue Coat by Monica Hesse. Removed. I already own two world war two inspired historical fiction novels that are just sat on my shelves untouched. I’m not adding another one.
  30. Boyband by Jacqueline E. Smith. Keep this just sounds fun and cute and I still want to read it, even though I feel like its been on here forever.
  31. The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater. Removed. I jumped on the band wagon with this one and now I’ve fallen off.
  32. Burying Water by K.A. Tucker. Removed. The synopsis kind of makes me go meh. I can see why I added it but I don’t think it’ll excite me again.
  33. Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson. Removed. I know people love Morgan Matson but I am not feeling this at all.
  34. How My Summer Went Up in Flames by Jennifer Salvato Doktorski. Removed. This was added when I was mouring The Summer I Turned Pretty. It sounds ok but I’ve moved on from this stage of my life.
  35. The Moon and More by Sarah Dessen. Keep. I would have removed this for the same reason as the book above but everyone raves about Sarah Dessen so I’d like to give her a go.
  36. Where I Belong by J. Daniels. Keep. This would be a proper guilty pleasure read and I’m totally up for that. This sounds a bit like Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover to me which was amazing.
  37. Bird Box by Josh Malerman. Removed. I don’t know why I added this, probably because everyone is talking about it. I know I won’t read this.
  38. A Head Full of Ghosts by Paul Tremblay. Keep as it sounds really different and chilling.
  39. Ghosts, A Natural History: 500 Years of Searching For Proof. Removed. Just nope.
  40. Attachments by Rainbow Rowell. Keep. I read Landline earlier this year, which was ok. This was the original book I wanted to try of Rainbow’s and I’d still like to give it a go.
  41. Annie on My Mind by Nancy Garden. Keep. I still think this sounds really good.
  42. South of Sunshine by Dana Elmendorf. Removed. I’ll never read this.
  43. The Man in Black: A Ghost Story by Jordan Mason. Removed. Once again I have no interest in this anymore.
  44. Scars by Cheryl Rainfield. Removed. This sounds so depressing, I think this would just make me too sad.
  45. All the Rage by Courtney Summers. Keep. I enjoy books that make you think, I’m looking forward to reading this.
  46. The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gainman AND…
  47. Neverwhere by Neil Gainman . Keep to both, they both sound right up my street.
  48. Blankets by Craig Thompson. Removed. I think this is a graphic novel but I’m not really feeling it anymore.
  49. Volition by Lily Paradis. Removed. This book sounds interesting but I can’t get a copy of it anywhere so I’m giving up.
  50. Tokyo by Mo Hayder. Keep. I’d totally forgotten about this book and it sounds so good, going to have to get this.
  51. The Start of Me and You by Emery Lord. Removed. I’ve just moved on from this reading period of my life.
  52. Open Road Summer by Emery Lord. Removed. As above.
  53. When We Collided by Emery Lord. Removed. Seriously Laura??????
  54. Timebomb by Scott K. Andrews. Removed. I feel bad because I won this but I’m never going to read it so I’m going to pass it forward for someone else to enjoy.
  55. Off the Page by Jodi Picoult. Removed. I’ve had this for 6 months and I don’t even have a little urge to read it.
  56. Wicked Games by Sean Olin. Removed. I’m not even sure why I put this on there in the first place. Doesn’t seem like my kind of read at all.
  57. Brother/Sister by Sean Olin. Removed. Now I added this because I’d just finished Forbidden and I wanted something similar but I don’t think there is anything else that’s like Forbidden.
  58. Until September by Andrea Smith. Removed. Oh jeeze, what was I even thinking with this one? Bye bye!
  59. Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery. Keep. I was obsessed with the t.v. show of this when I was little and I’d still love to read it some time.
  60. The Secret of the Old Clock by Carolyn Keene. Removed. These look so cute but I will honestly never read this series.
  61. Ghostgirl by Tonya Hurley. Removed. This l funny but not really my style.
  62. Life Unaware by Cole Gibson. Removed. Once again I just don’t think this is my style.
  63. The Merciless by Danielle Vega. Removed. I think I thought this was something else maybe? The cover is cute but the story doesn’t sound like its for me.
  64. Afterparty by Ann Redisch Stampler. Removed. I remember adding this but I just don’t want to watch it anymore.
  65. The Bad Beginning by Lemony Snicket. Keep. When I get my hands on these books I’m reading them all, these were a big part of my childhood and I loved them!
  66. Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick. Keep. I’m still undecided by this. Part of me screams yes when I read the synopsis but a little bit of me is questioning why I want to read this. I’ll probably give it a go at some point.
  67. Seconds by Bryan Lee O’Malley. I’ll probably never read this so Removed.
  68. The Lonely City: Adventures in the Art of Being Alone by Olivia Laing. Keep. I still think this sounds awesome and I’d love to read it
  69. Carve The Markby Veronica Roth. Removed. Once again I’m just not feeling dystopian stuff anymore.
  70. Prisoner of Night and Fog AND…
  71. Conspiracy of Blood and Smoke by Anne Blankman. Removed. I already own these 2, there on my real life TBR shelf waiting to be read.
  72. The Memory Box by Eva Lesko Natiello.Removed. I can see why I added this but I just don’t want to read it anymore. Another fatality of my thriller phase.
  73. Asking For It by Louise O’Neill. Removed. I must have gone through a stage where I googled most depressing books ever. I know I won’t want to read this any time soon.
  74. Like No Other by Una LaMarche. Keep. This sounds so cute and will be just what I need one day when I need a romance to sink into.
  75. Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake. Removed. I think I saw this on someone’s booktube channel but either way its now a no from me.
  76. Chernobyl 01:23:40: The Incredible True Story of the World’s Worst Nuclear Disaster. Keep. The only reason I don’t own this book is because it is still really expensive. But I do really want to read it.
  77. The Lost Swimmer by Ann Turner.Removed. Another Goodread’s competition win, this has just slowly lost appeal with me till it now holds none at all. I’ll give it to someone who will appreciate it.
  78. The Story of Jane Doe by Jane Doe. Keep. This is also one I want to read but is super expensive to buy.
  79. The Hunting Ground: The Inside Story of Sexual Assault on American College Campuses by Amy Ziering and Kirby Dick. Keep. This book sounds fascinating and is super important in a time where rape is seen as part of the American college lifestyle.
  80. The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick. Keep. I loved My Life Next Door and love the idea of a companion novel to it. I’m not in the mood for it right now but when that mood comes back around I’ll be ready with this.
  81. Just One Day by Gayle Forman. Removed. I own it in physical form, just waiting to read it so I don’t need to on my list.
  82. It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover. Keep. Its out next week and I’ve got my copy reserved. I cannot wait to read this, I’ve been waiting for this book all year! I’ve even got a weekend off work to read it :D.
  83. Ransom by Rachel Schurig. Removed. I already have this sat on my kindle waiting for the right time to read it.
  84. The Edge of Never by J.A. Redmerski. Removed. I loved these types of books for a long time but this doesn’t even give me a twinkle of interest anymore.
  85. An Abundance of Katherines AND…
  86. Looking for Alaska by John Green. Conditional Keep. I’m keeping these for now but I have a dilemma. I loved The Fault in Our Stars so much but I completely hated Paper Towns. Do I take a chance on reading these? Part of me wants to, part of me really does not.
  87. Beside Myself by Ann Morgan. Keep. I’ve said the whole way through this I’m not keeping thrillers but this sounds SO good that I have to keep it.
  88. In the Darkest Corner by Elizabeth Haynes. Removed. And back to thrillers I won’t read.
  89. Saint Anything AND…
  90. The Truth About Forever AND…
  91. Just Listen AND…
  92. The Lullaby by Sarah Dessen. Keep. I think its pretty obvious that I’m not really into contemporaries at the moment but these get so much love that I know I’ll pick one up one day, read it, fall in love, read all of them and then have a melt down when there’s no more of her books to read (like I did with Colleen Hoover).
  93. The Little Shop of Happy Ever After by Jenny Colgan. Removed. cassionally an adult contemporary makes its way into my life, but only very rarely and I just don’t think this one will ever make the cut.
  94. Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showaiter. Removed. I saw these, got excited, bought them and now I no longer want to read them. Story of my life.
  95. Flirting in Italian by Lauren Henderson. Removed. More Jenny Han fallout I’ll never get round to.
  96. The Book of Broken Hearts by Sarah Ockler.Removed. I just don’t fancy this anymore. Maybe in the future.
  97. Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead. Removed. I was looking for a new Twilight but I realise now I’m never going to get into another vampire book so this has to go.
  98. Amy and Rodger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson. Removed. Changed my mind about this one too.
  99. Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shepard. Removed. I had big plans for this series but I think I’ve grown out of them.
  100. Love is the Higher Law by David Levithan. Keep. This still sounds so good to me.
  101. Elsewhere by Ganrielle Zevin. Removed. This doesn’t sound like something I’d read, no idea why its on here.
  102. My Horizontal Life: A Collection of One-Night Stands by Chelsea Handler. Keep. I love Chelsea and I think this will be a great read.
  103. In Real Life by Cory Doctorow. Removed. This looked cute but I’m not sure if I’d read it unless I maybe borrowed it from the library.
  104. Anya’s Ghost by Vera Brosgol. Removed. This is the same as above for me.
  105. The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly. Keep. I am fascinated by cults. Also Minnow is the best name ever.
  106. Flawed by Cecelia Ahern. Removed. I have a copy of this already, waiting to be read.
  107. Underground Airlines by Ben H. Winters. Removed. I honestly can’t even remember putting this on here. Not for me.
  108. Through the Woods by Emily Carroll. Removed. I can’t remember adding this one either!
  109. This is Where it Ends by Marieke Nijkamp. Removed. I was really interested at first but I’ve heard a lot of mediocre reviews and I’m not sure it’ll really deliver what I want it too so I’m giving it a miss for now.
  110. Losing It by Cora Carmack. Removed. I can see why this appealed to me but I don’t want to read it anymore.
  111. Ghost World by Daniel Clowes. Keep. Ghost World was oe of my favourite films of all time. The graphic novel it came from looks amazing and I must read it soon.
  112. Here by Richard McGuire. Keep. This also looks like a fascinating graphic novel.
  113. You Look Different in Real Life by Jennifer Castle.Keep. I couldn’t remember what this one was about but reading the synopsis again has made me realise why I put it on the list in the first place, sounds awesome.
  114. Everlost by Neal Shusterman. Removed. I remember not being 100% into this when I added it so no surprise really that I’m removing it now.
  115. The Future of Us by Jay Asher. Conditional Keep. This book sounds amazing but I wasn’t really that impressed with 13 Reasons Why.
  116. So Now You’re Back by Heidi Rice. Removed. Another adult contemporary I’ll never pick up.
  117. A Brief Affair by Margaret Leroy. Removed. More historical fiction that I know I won’t really like.
  118. From a Distant Star by Karen McQuestion. Removed. Think this was added around the time I was reading the Lux series.
  119. Those Above by Daniel Polansky. Removed. Think I was trying to convince myself that I liked high fantasy at the time, I don’t.
  120. Fallen Too Far by Abbi Glines. Keep. I know I’ve removed quite a lot of my summer beach type reads but this is still appealing to me. Mainly because everyone seems to love Abbi Glines and I’m yet to read anything of hers.
  121. R is for Rebel by Megan Mulry. Removed. I won this years ago and I think if I haven’t read it by now I’m probably never going to.
  122. On The Fence by Kasie West. Keep. Ok this sounds cute and I kinda wanna read it now.
  123. The Dead House by Dawn Kurtagich. Keep. This sounds creepy, I must pick it up soon!
  124. Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire. Removed. I’ve picked this up a couple of times and I just can’t get into it. It obviously wasn’t meant to be.
  125. Green Eyes in Las Vegas by A.R. Winters. Keep. I read the first in this series and LOVED it. Thanks to my friend Andrea for recommending it to me.
  126. One Night That Changes Everything by Lauren Barnholdt. Removed. It looks OK but I’m not going to go out of my way to pick it up.
  127. Perfect You by Elizabeth Scott. Removed. This sounds like too much of a typical teen contemporary for me.
  128. Breathe by Abbi Glines. Keep. I also want to read this series, I’ve heard great things about it.
  129. Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon. Removed. I bought this after The Fault in Our Stars for 99p. Its there if I fancy it but I’m not really interested in it anymore.
  130. We Need to Talk About Kevin Bridges by Kevin Bridges. Removed. I went to see him live and loved him. I got the book for Christmas so I don’t need it on the list anymore.
  131. The Witches by Stacy Schiff. Removed. I got this for Christmas too so it’s going as well.
  132. Library of Souls AND…
  133. Hollow City by Ransom Riggs. Removed. I bought these at  beginning of the month and I will be getting to them shortly.
  134. The Unabridged Journals of Sylvia Plath. Removed. I’ve been reading this in little bits over about 6 months so its off the list.
  135. The State We’re In by Adele Parks. Removed. I also already own this one and will get to it eventually.
  136. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky. Keep. I’ve been meaning to pick this up since I saw the film and I still intend to.
  137. The Things We Thought We Saw in the Water by C. Frazier Jones. Keep. This coll of short stories sounds so cool.
  138. Full Circle by Michael Palin. Keep. This just sounds fascinating.
  139. While You Die by Tano. Keep. If I find a way to get my hands on a copy of this book I will read it.
  140. 11/22/63 by Stephen King. Keep. I want to read this someday, when I’m in the right mood.
  141. Forget Me Not by Carolee Dean. Removed. I’m not in the mood to read this at all.
  142. If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo. Keep. I think this book sounds wonderful.
  143. Burned by Ellen Hopkins. Keep. And this book just sounds fascinating.
  144. A Fool Rides the Wheel of Fortune by Steven M. Fernand. Keep. I’d forgotten all about this and it sounds dead good.
  145. Backlash by Sarah Darer Littman. Removed. I know I won’t read this.
  146. The Bricks That Built the Houses by Kate Tempest. Removed. I owned this and never read it nd I’ve actually already given it away so I won’t be reading it.
  147. Call to Crusade by Tom Vetter. Removed. As above.
  148. Ivory Terrors by Georgina Derwent. Removed. As above.
  149. Love in B Minor by Elodie Nowodazkij. Removed. This sounds rubbish.
  150. Return to the Little Coffee Shop of Kabul. Reomved. I loved the first one but I’ve now lost all interest in carrying on the series.
  151. Lucky Few by Kathryn Ormsbee. Removed. ANOTHER one I can’t even remember adding.
  152. The Teacher by Katerina Diamond. Removed. I went through a stage earlier this year of books surrounding teachers but I’m out of it now.
  153. The Tao of Pooh by Benjamin Hoff.Removed. I’m not even sure what this is!
  154. Night Film by Marisha Pessi. Removed. The more I look at this book the less I want to read it.
  155. The Dinner by Herman Koch. Keep. I still want to read this, it sounds fantastic.
  156. Bury This by Andrea Portes. Removed. Another book, another thriller I won’t read.
  157. Loving Mr. Daniels by Brittainy C. Cherry. Removed. Yet again a book about a teacher that I’ll never read.
  158. The Naturals by Jennifer Lynn Barnes. Removed because although it sounds good once again I’ve just gone off it.
  159. The Versions of Us by Laura Barnett. Keep. The synopsis relates this to Sliding Doors, I fucking love Sliding Doors.
  160. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstein. Removed. It’s been over plugged now.
  161. Ink by Amanda Sun. Keep. This sounds good, its not what I remember it being about but I’m ok with that.
  162. Teeth by Hanna Moskowitz. Removed. Just nah.
  163. The Spook’s Curse by Joseph Delaney. Keep. I’ve been meaning to carry on this series forever and I’m determined I will.
  164. The New Girl byR.L. Stein. Keep. Because who didn’t love Goosebumps?
  165. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness. Removed. I don’t think I will ever go out and get this. I might read it if someone forced me to but otherwise…
  166. Reflected in You by Sylvia Day. Removed. I now own them all so I’ll get round to reading them sometime.
  167. The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness. Removed. I got swept away with the hype surrounding this book when it came out but I’m over it now.
  168. Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder by Hannah Swensen. Keep. I love cosy mysteries and this one sounds right up my street.

Well that took 3 hours longer than I thought it would but my Goodreads has been purged and I feel fantastic! Only 66 books on there to tackle now which feels a hell of a lot more manageable. If you made it to the end, well done you and thank you! I hope you enjoyed the post. If you feel I’ve been to hasty getting rid of a book or I’m holding on to one I should just get rid of now; let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

