The Haunting of Sunshine Girl by Paige McKenzie

Synopsis: Something freakin is going on with Sunshine’s new house… there’s the chill that wraps itself around her bones, the giggling she can hear in the dead of night, and then the strange shadows that lurk in her photographs. But the more weird stuff that happens, the less her mum believes her. The synopsis is pretty long so I’m not going to go to much into it but that’s the gist.

Book Facts: this book is part of a series. It was published in March 2015 by Weinstein books. It started off as a YouTube channel (of the same name which is interesting). It is 296 pages long and only took me a couple of hours to read. It has a 3.86 rating on Goodreads which I’d agree with. I’m giving this book a 3.5.

The review: this book was an interesting hybrid of horror and fantasy. It started off strongly as a horror story that really gave me chills. But as it went on it became more and more fantastical. I both liked and didn’t like this. I liked that I wasn’t expecting that to happen. I didn’t like that I REALLY wanted just a good ghost story and it really didn’t deliver this. Maybe I would have known this had I been aware ofh e YouTube channel this originated from.

The idea was original for me. I’ve not really read anything like this before and I appreciated the writing style and the fact that this didn’t just become another paranormal romance kinda book. Plus the women in this book were really strong, which I love. Still I can’t see myself reading this again and I don’t think it’ll be a story I hold onto.

Leave a Reply

